WSOP Player of The Year Race: Negreanu in Lead

DanielEvery poker fan around the world eagerly waits for November each year to know which player out shined everyone and captured the title of World Series of Poker (WSOP) Player of The Year.  This title is every Poker player’s dream and something which pushes them to excel in every tournament they participate in. Apart from WSOP Las Vegas, players attend European Championships to accumulate more points and from the introduction of WSOP Asia Pacific, this contest has become more interesting.

The POY contest, which is organized by Bluff Magazine works on a simple formula. Each player’s performance in open bracelet events awards them with some points. The more the points will be, higher will be the chances for a player to win this title. Also, 100 points for a bracelet winner and 500 points for a main event winner are reserved.

This year, WSOP APAC Main Event winner, Daniel Negreanu is topping the list of the players who are in the race for this title. His win in the Main Event and appearance on the final table of AU$2,200 Mixed Game Event at WSOP APAC has placed him on number one position. Though to remain on number one position Negreanu will have to keep up his good performance as a lot of action is going to take place before November. Bryan Piccioli and Jim Collopy, who won $1,100 Accumulator event and $1,650 Pot Limit Omaha Event respectively  at 2013 WSOP APAC are also in the top ten players.

Here is the list of top ten players in WSOP player of the year race.

  1. Daniel  Negreanu- 408.40
  2. Daniel Marton- 252.00
  3.  Piccioli- 190.00
  4. Winfred Yu- 180.00
  5. Aaron Lim- 162.50
  6. George Tsatsis- 158.40
  7. Jonathan Karamalikis- 141.13
  8. Kahle Burns- 136.80
  9. James Collopy- 130.00
  10. Benny Splindler- 118.80