O’ Dwyer, Silverman and Kurganov Joined The Top Ten of GPI Player of the Year

Steven Silverman
Steven Silverman

Global Poker Index (GPI) Player of the Year race is heating up as new names are making their way in the top ten. This week three new poker players has entered the list. Steven Silverman and Steve O’ Dwyer who won the €25,000 High Roller event and Main event of 2013 PokerStars and Monte Carlo Casino European Poker Tour (EPT) respectively, made their way in the top ten. Another player who made it to the list is Igor Kurganov of Team Germany. His performances at EPT grand final main event and €25,000 High Roller event, where he marked his name in money finishes were good enough to earn him enough points to make it into the top ten list.

Irish O’ Dwyer’s epic win in EPT Main Event where he outplayed some of the most feared poker players was a milestone for him. That win not only made him $1.6 million richer but also helped him to jump 31 places in the player of the year list, making him one of the contenders for the player of the year title. Similarly Silverman’s Poker skills helped him to place himself on the third place on the list.  He made a leap of 17 places. Kurganov jumped 12 places to be in the top ten.

Apart from new entries, there has been some shuffling in other player’s rankings too. As we informed you earlier that Mike Watson is in red zone and may lose his second place. He dropped two places and is at fourth place. Ole Schemion of Germany climbed to second place after winning a side event, €5,000 Pot-Limit Omaha in EPT Grand Final. Though young Schemion will be unable to participate In World Series of Poker (WSOP) because of his age. Daniel Negreanu made the biggest leap of the week. He jumped 84 spots and placed himself at 24th position.  Negreanu has finished fourth in EPT Grand Final Main event.

Top Ten List of GPI Player of the Year

Rank Player and Change in Rank Score
1. Paul Volpe (-) 760.79
2. Ole Schemion (+2) 535.26
3. Steven Silverman (+17) 532.78
4. Mike Watson (-4) 524.77
5. Scott Seiver (-2) 524.13
6. Igor Kurganov (+12) 522.95
7. Steve O’ Dwyer (+31) 498.85
8. Dan Shak (-4) 469.97
9. Christian Harder (-) 461.69
10. Micah Raskin (-5) 451.75