Its a new Guinness Record and a new APT-RWM Iron Man Poker Champion

Pic Courtesy: APT
Pic Courtesy: APT

The Guinness World Record for the ‘Longest Continuous Poker Tournament’ was broken here today at the Resorts World Manila and in complete style. The previous record of 36 hours, 34 minutes and 41 seconds was beaten and a new one set of 48 hours, 55 minutes and 59 seconds with the crowning of Damon Schulenberger as the APT-RWM Iron Man Poker Challenge Main Event Champion.

The 115 poker pros beat poker fatigue, sleep and other physical challenges to set this record. The money bubble burst at the 30th hour and when the record was beaten 5 players were still left vying for the top honours. 3 way action between Shulenberger, Sandro Simon and Choi Byung Koo lasted a long time and it seemed anyone’s game. But with the elimination of Simon, it looked quite sure that chip leader Shulenberger would reign. He won the title and the top prize money of $18,240.

At this occasion, The APT also announced their calendar for 2014. The APT Asian Series Cebu is scheduled from February 12th to 19th at the Waterfront Hotel and Casino in Lahug, Cebu City; the APT Philippines is set from April 30th to May 7th at the Resorts World Manila; and the first-ever APT China from June 18th to 25th at the Chimelong Paradise Hotel Convention Center in Guangzhou, China.

In other news from APT, Samad Razavi won his second consecutive APT Player of the Year(POY) title by winning 5 APT titles and 21 ITM finishes. In second place is Maria Carmen Esdaile while Tetsuya Tsuchikawa is third. 

APT-RWM Iron Man Poker Challenge Payout (US $)

1st Damon Shulenberger (USA) -$18,240
2nd Choi Byung Kyoo (Korea) – $10,670
3rd Sandro Simon (Germany) – $7,390
4th Lim Dae Hoon (Korea) -$5,390
5th Florencio Campomanes (Philippines) – $4,460
6th Howard Ang Lee (Philippines) – $3,680
7th Gerry Flores (Philippines) – $3,030
8th Kim Jinwi (Korea) – $2,530
9th Norbert Koh (Singpore) – $2,180
10th Martin Corpuz (Philippines) – $1,870
11th Samad Razavi (England) – $1,750
12th Zhang Quaosheng (Singapore) – $1,750
13th Nasser Jose Perez (Philippines) – $1,500
14th John Tech (Philippines) – $1,500
15th Liam Anderson (Australia) – $1,500
16th Dexter Salmingo (Philippines) – $1,320
17th Davor Bendin (Germany) – $1,320
18th Wendell Davis Garcia (Philippines) – $1,320