DR Cup: Apoorv Bajpayee in Chip Lead on Day 1 of Main Event

deltincupThe DR Cup kicked off at the Deltin Royale on 29th January with the 15K Freezeout Event and the 50K Main Event started yesterday with the first flight of Day 1. Apoorv Bajpayee stood in chip lead after 47 entrants started Day 1 followed closely by Kunal Dara. Registrations will continue today in the 3 day event till 9 PM and those who bust on Day 1 are also allowed to re-enter. Bajpayee enters the final day with a healthy stack of 1,04,575 along with 22 other remaining players in the field. ┬áThis is the 3rd Edition of the DR Cup but the first time that the main event has been spread across 3 days. The last edition of DR Cup held in Nov-Dec saw Shashank Sidharth win the 2 day 40K buy-in Main Event. Sidharth is still in lurch for another title as he enters the final day’s play along with Ramandeep Gujral.

Earlier when DR Cup started the 15K Freezeout Event saw 94 poker players with 10 places being paid. Ramandeep Gujral won the title defeating Girish Sampat in heads up play. Most of the Goa tournament regs made it to the DR Cup this time too and the final table also included Sheetal Sabharwal, Raj Talwar and Debashish Pal.

The first DR Cup was held in September to a huge response and the main event was won by Jasven Saigal. The plush and elite Horseshoe ship had started operations in July after many hiccups. The legacy of the popular Casino Royale(CR) Cup was carried on here as DR Cup featured a tax-free tournament for players. The first poker outing was held from Sept-28, 2013 followed by the second DR Cup which saw Shashank Sidharth winning on 2nd Dec 2013.

The final table results of the DR Cup 15K Freezeout Event are:

1. Ramandeep Gujral

2. Girish Sampat

3. Prashant Correa

4. Uma Shanker

5. Sheetal Sabharwal

6. Raj Talwar

7. Debashish Pal

8. Rahul Melwani

9. Noh Tejanin

10. Phani Rameneni.