Ivey!Ivey!Ivey! All the way in the Aussie Millions LK Boutique $250,000 Challenge Event

PhiliveyaussieThe 2014 Aussie Millions is now done and dusted but not before crowning one of the greatest poker pros of all time as the winner in the LK Boutique $250,000 Challenge Event. Phil Ivey won the title second time in three years as the record payout event gave him $4,000,000 for the first place finish making it the biggest poker tournament ever on the Australian continent.

Ivey won this title first in 2012 but this year around with 46 entries it marked a record payout. The $4,000,000 marked the single largest cash out of Ivey’s poker career also as he defeated a eight handed final table packed with poker pros. He was one of the few poker players from the 46 player field to fire only one bullet in the $250,000 buy-in event. He always remained in the top 10 in chip strength and was 7th when the FT started. Max Altergott  became the money bubble as the final 7 players finished in the money. Erik Seidel exit in 7th place when his {J-Diamonds}{J-Clubs} were killed by Fabian Quoss’s  {K-Clubs}{K-Spades}

Next to hit the rail was Tom Dwan followed by Quoss and Daniel Negreanu and Mike McDonald. Heads up action brewed between Isaac haxton and Phil Ivey where the former was desperately seeking maximum money after having an unsuccessful Aussie Millions. Controversial debates ensued through this event about the number of bullets each player including Daniel Negreanu fired. Negreanu and McDonald both were in with 3 bullets but still managed to pull a profit and it called for an interesting poker discussion.

During Heads up play, Haxton was in front by over a million chips but many exchanges of double ups followed. It was amonster pot in Level 19 where Ivey doubled up to 8,750,000 chips and Haxton was crippled with around 2 M chips that Ivey started controlling the event. In the final hand, Ivey limped in from big blind where Haxton raised all in from button. Ivey called with  {A-Hearts}{6-Clubs} and Haxton showed his  {8-Spades}{7-Diamonds}. The board came  {A-Diamonds}{K-Hearts}{9-Clubs}{7-Spades}{3-Spades} which eliminated Haxton and gave Phil Ivey his biggest single cash with this Aussie Millions victory. 

This marks an end to the 2014 Aussie Millions; it also marked the first time this poker tournament was held in association with the Asia Pacific Poker Tour(APPT). Next up from Season 8 of the APPT is the Seoul outing from April 1st to 6th, 2014. 

LK Boutique $250,000 Final Table Payout

 Player                             Prize (AU$)

1. Phil Ivey                      $4,000,000

2. Isaac Haxton             $2,820,000

3. Mike McDonald         $1,900,000

4. Daniel Negreanu       $1,250,000

5. Fabian Quoss              $800,000

6. Tom Dwan                    $500,000