Matthew Lapossie wins WPT Fallsview Poker Classic for $342,266

Lapossie with the Trophy and the WPT Girls. Image Courtesy: WPT
Lapossie with the Trophy and the WPT Girls. Image Courtesy: WPT

After 3 days of poker action, the World Poker Tour(WPT) Fallsview Poker Classic crowned a champion in Matthew Lapossie who defeated Dylan Wilkerson for the title and $342,266. Lapossie who also led Day 1 of the WPT event got the coveted trophy, membership to the WPT Champions Club and also the biggest tournament cash of his poker career. 

The final day had begun with 10 players in action waiting for four poker players to exit to start the final table. Xiaohu Chen(10th), John Boulougouris(9th) and Peter Labib(8th) set the fight on for the FT bubble. This was unfortunately won by Dave Graham who went down to Day 3 chip leader Jason James in 7th place with a cash of $54,478.

James entered the FT in chip lead with 2.8 million chips followed by Josue Sauvageau with 2.69 million. Lapossie had entered the FT as the smallest chip stack and also the only one with less than a million chips. The first elimination from the FT took only 17 hands as Howie Leung busted to Wilkerson. Some time later Wilkerson scalped another one in the form of Sauvageau who took $81,716 for his 5th place finish.

At this stage, four way play took a lot of time and many double ups and chops later, Spiro Mikrogianakis 
went down in fourth place emprtying a big pot to Lapossie who became chip leader post the hand. Sipro took $108,956 for his fourth place finish setting the pace for three way action.

But it didn’t take too long for heads up play to begin as James hit the rail winning $147,090 for his 3rd place finish at this WPT event. Lapossie stayed in front most of the times and when  the blinds were at 75,000/150,000/25,000 in Level 32, Wilkerson moved all in for around 2 million from the button. Lapossie called with the {A-Spades}{5-Spades} against the {4-Hearts}{4-Spades} for Wilkerson. The board revealed  {A-Clubs}{10-Hearts}{6-Clubs}{6-Spades}{2-Hearts}, and that was the victory mark for Lapossie and a second place finish for Wilkerson who earned an impressive $228,806.

Lapossie pocketed a handsome $342,266 for winning the WPT Fallsview Poker Classic and also a seat in the season-ending WPT World Championship to be held at Borgata in Atlantic City in April. The World Poker Tour Season XII next stop is Los Angeles for the 2014 L.A. Poker Classic where the main event starts from March 1. 

The Final Results of the WPT Fallsview Poker Classic are:


Place Player Prize
1 Matthew Lapossie $342,266
2 Dylan Wilkerson $228,806
3 Jason James $147,090
4 Spiro Mikrogianakis $108,956
5 Josue Sauvageau $81,716
6 Howie Leung $65,373