APT Philippines 2014: Feng Zhao goes from Chip Leader to Winner!

aptphilIt was a dominant final table performance by Singaporean poker player Feng Zhao as he went from being chip leader to winning the APT Philippines 2014 Main Event title with conviction. Zhao is richer by $126,500 after defeating Inaki Santos in a short heads up battle at the Resorts World Manila. 

It was completely Zhao’s day as it seemed that he was on a roll. The final hand that won him the title played out as follows:

Santos kicked off the hand by raising to 100K and was called by Zhao. At the flop of s8s6 d5, Zhao checked to Santos who bet 125K only to get raised to 305K which he called. At the turn of d7, Zhao laid out 340K and after tanking Santos announced he was all in. Zhao quickly called and at the showdown it was Zhao ahead with the straight sj c9 against Santos d10d8 top pair flush draw. With the river of h7, Zhao won the hand and claimed first prize.

The APT Philippines 2014 ME Winner Feng Zhao
The APT Philippines 2014 ME Winner Feng Zhao

Mikal Blomlie was the first to exit the 8 handed final table with $15,100. Next up was Michael Marvanek with $18,700 followed by Huy Pham for $23,200. Mike Fawaz went out in 5th place for $28,200 and Hyeong Wook Choi went out in 4th place. Jia Jie Lang went down in 3rd place to set up the heads up clash. 

The final results of the Main Event of the APT Philippines 2014 are:

Rank Name Prize(USD)
1 Feng Zhao $126,500
2 Inaki santos $72,600
3 Jia Jie Lang $49,400 
4 Hyeong Wook Choi $35,300 
5 Mike Fawaz $28,800 
6 Huy Pham $23,200 
7 Michael Marwanak $18,700 
8 Mikal Blomlie $15,100