2014 WSOP Events 17-20, George Danzer denies Shack-Harris a double

2014wsopbraceletIt was an eventful day at the 2014 WSOP when 4 more Gold Bracelets were given away at the Rio All Suite Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas. While George Danzer prevailed in the first ever $10,000 Razz Championship, Brandon shack Harris was denied a double bracelet win in the 2014 WSOP. Dan Heimiller, a WSOP veteran of sorts won his second bracelet after a decade’s time to take down Event 17, $1000 Seniors NLHE event. Ted Gillis was the conquerer in event 19 $1500 NLHE when he defeated John Hennigan for his first ever bracelet.

Event 17: $1K Seniors NLHE

A huge field of 4452 players turned up for this 3- day event open only to poker players above the age of 50. But not only was the field huge but the competition was intense. Notable names like Dennis Phillips and Don Maas made it to the final table which itself speaks for the tough win by Dan Heimiller. Heimiller defeated Maas in heads up to take the top prize of $627,462 and his second WSOP Bracelet. He is a poker veteran and has been playing at the WSOP for 20 years now. With 52 cashes and many WSOP Circuits wins, he won his first WSOP Bracelet in 2002 in a Seven Card Stud Event. This win in the Seniors Event speaks a lot for his poker calibre and his poker journey.

Here are the final table results from the Seniors Event:

1st: Dan Heimiller – $627,462
2nd: Don Maas – $388,054
3rd: David W. Smith – $279,412
4th: Anthony Wise- $206,492
5th: Dennis Phillips- $153,883
6th: David Tran – $115,651
7th: Barry Schwartz – $87,615
8th: David Vida – $66,945
9th: Jim Custer – $51,573

George Danzer
George Danzer

Event 18: $10k 7 Card Razz

This was a brand new tournament and saw a huge response from the best in poker. Players came out in huge numbers in the $10K Razz Championship which marked the highest buy-in for a Razz tourney. It was the young George Danzer from Germany who overcame the field of 112 players including the likes of Nick Schulman, Paul Volpe and Scott Clements. But in winning his first ever WSOP bracelet, Danzer had to defeat Brandon Shack Harris who was seeking his second bracelet in two weeks. Danzer won $294,792 for his first place finish.

Here are the final table results from the $10,000 Razz event:

1st: George Danzer– $294,792
2nd: Brandon Shack-Harris – $182,155
3rd: Todd Barlow – $114,081
4th: Yuval Bronshtein – $82,602
5th: Brian Hastings – $64,557
6th: Todd Dakake – $51,481
7th: Naoya Kihara – $41,806
8th: David Bach – $34,500

Event 19: $1500 No Limit Hold’em

Ted Gillis was defintely the ‘noob’ as they say in poker when it came to the final table of the Event 19. His lifetime live earnings are just a little more than $10K and has a single WSOP cash to his name. But he did what we have seen man times in poker. He knocked his way to the title taking down $514,000 for his win. He overcame the likes of John Hennigan, Mustapha Kanit and Hiren Patel on the final table to win the most coveted prize in poker.

A field of 2086 sat down for this event and 203 finished ITM. The day 3 action saw the final table commencing with Hiren Patel in lead. But players went down quickly as Gillis accumulated chips. In the end, it was his day and the cards also favored him as he etched his name in poker history.

Here are the final table results from the $1,500 No Limit Hold’em event:

1st: Ted Gillis- $514,027
2nd: John Hennigan – $319,993
3rd: Dejan Divkovic- $222,429
4th: Jacobo Fernandez – $160,193
5th: Mustapha Kanit – $117,079
6th: Jaime Kaplan – $86,609
7th: Hiren Patel – $64,911
8th: Edison Shields – $49,267
9th: Dylan Thomassie – $37,834

Event 20: $3K NLHE Shootout

The streak of first time bracelet winners at the 2014 WSOP continues as Kory Kilpatrick also jumped on this bandwagon. He won the $3K NLHE Shootout for $254,891 defeating the likes of Phil Galfond and Chris Bell. The event drew 389 players and like all other Shootouts at the WSOP consisted of three single table rounds of play. The first round played nine or ten-handed at each table with the 40 winners of those tables advancing into the money and the second round. The second round then distributed players at ten four-handed tables with the winners of each advancing on to the finals. the final table was a fairly tough one for Kory to conquer with Bracelet winner Galfond, Bell and Taylor Paur in attendance.

Here are the final table results from the $3,000 No Limit Hold’em Shootout event:

1st: Kory Kilpatrick – $254,891
2nd: Eric Wasserson – $157,490
3rd: Noah Bronstein – $115,659
4th: Jack Duong – $85,616
5th: Chris Bell – $63,877
6th: Phil Galfond – $48,043
7th: Taylor Paur – $36,414
8th: Michael Stonehill – $27,812
9th: Dylan Linde – $21,409
10th: Narendra Banwari – $16,609


  1. Mohit
    June 11, 2014 - 9:13 am


  2. Rajdeep
    June 12, 2014 - 10:19 am


  3. June 13, 2014 - 6:53 am

    Nice wow

Comments are closed.