LAPT7 Brazil: Caio Hey wins Title, R$660,000, denies Sbrissa repeat win

The LAPT Brazil
The LAPT Brazil Winner Caio Hey

While all poker attention is on the WSOP 2014 going on at the Rio All Suite Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Caio Hey won the Latin American Poker Tour(LAPT) 7 Brazil at Sao Paulo denying Victor Sbrissa a repeat win. It was purely a Latin American playing field at the LAPT Brazil since the rest of the poker world seemed to be in Vegas.

The Event saw 1,150 entrants and 167 of these finished in the money. There were two Day 1 starting flights which gave way to this huge entry field.  Day 2 of the event saw the money bubble burst and a final table was formed on Day 3. Amongst those who finished ITM include Pokerstars Team Pro Angel Guillen(R$190,000), Caio Pessagno( R$22,000) and Leo Fernandez(R$8,650).

The final table took place on June 3rd with Victor Sbrissa leading with 9,325,000 chips followed by Joaquin Matias Ruiz with 5,425,000 chips. Angel Guillen was next with 3,790,000 chips and Caio Hey had 2,790,000 chips. But when the final day started with its 8 contenders, Sbrissa couldn’t use his chip strenght for too long. Joaquin Ruiz doubled up through his Pocket Queens through Sbrissa and that’s when the defending champion took a back seat.

After 3 eliminations of Gustavo Vascao, Jaun Pablo Franco and Andre Cuco; the final five looked like similar stacks. With everyone less than 30 big blinds, Angel Guillen went down next followed by the quick exit of Alex Sako. the final 3 then took an unscheduled break to discuss a deal and this was decided for the remaining prize money –R$520,000 for chip leader Hey, R$510,000 for Sbrissa, and R$410,000 for Ruiz– leaving R$160,000 on the table for the winner.

Following this Ruiz was crippled in a hand with Sbrissa and soon eliminated. Heads up action lasted only for 8 hands when Sbrissa was left looking for a repeat win and Hey got his first LAPT Brazil title for R$660,000.

The Final Table Results of LAPT7 Brazil:

1. Caio Hey (Brazil) R$ 660,000*
2. Victor Sbrissa (Brazil) R$ 510,000*
3. Joaquin Ruiz (Argentina) R$ 410,000*
4. Alex Sako (Brazil) R$ 250,000
5. Team PokerStars Pro Angel Guillen (Mexico) R$ 190,000
6. Andre Cuco (Portugal) R$ 140,000
7. Juan Pablo Franco (Argentina) R$ 105,000
8. Gustavo Vascao (Brazil) R$ 75,530