ANZPT Melbourne: Edison Nguyen crowned Champion!

anzptmelbourneIt was a long final day at the Crown Casino for the Main Event of the Australia New Zealand Poker Tour(ANZPT) Melbourne but finally it was poker player Edison Nguyen who reigned. He took home the title, the top prize of $217,500 following a heads up deal with Corey Kempson and now leads the  Race.  The day had started with 34 runners and promised to be a long one for the final man standing.

Amongst the bigger Asian poker names who exit early on the final day included , Michael Chrisanthopoulos (34th) , Anthony Aston (30th), Phil Willcocks (27th), Luke Brabin (23rd), Luke Edwards (21st) and Anthony Legg (15th). It was painfully close to the final table bubble for Joe Reina (12th) and Robert Damelian (11th) but it was Michael Caruana who was the bubble boy finishing in the 10th place. 

The trimmings of the final table were started by Cameron Bryce followed by Gabriel Messo. Dylan Honeyman and Vincent Chua were two quick exits on the same hand and left the table seeking some poker action. Double eliminations continued with Wayde Hickuss and Luke Spano exiting in consecutive hands.

When heads up play started between Nhuyen and Kempson, the latter held a slight chip lead. But soon tides turned and soon after a confusing deal Nguyen and Kempson agreed to go all in blind. Nguyen’s Q hearts6 clubs held ground against Kempson’s 6 diams4 diams on a board that came out as 7 spades9 heartsQ diams9 clubs4 hearts. Nguyen has now added the coveted ANZPT Melbourne title to his already impressive poker title repertoire. 

ANZPT Melbourne Final Table Results

1st Edison Nguyen – $217,500
2nd Corey Kempson – $195,500
3rd Dennis Huntly – $87,800
4th Luke Spano – $69,700
5th Wayde Rickhuss – $54,200
6th Vincent Chua – $43,800
7th Dylan Honeyman – $33,500
8th Gabriel Messo – $25,800
9th Cameron Bryce – $18,550