APT Manila: What Happens in Manila stays in Manila, Takayama Triumphs

miketakayamaThe Asian Poker Tour(APT) Asian Series Manila trophy spends the season at home as Mike Takayama overcame a huge chip disadvantage to win the crown. Entering the table with less than a Million chips in hand, his consitent play won him the title and PHP 3,453,000 top prize.

According to a Press Release by APT, here is an excerpt of the APT Manila action.

Takayama’s rise to the top began with a huge double up against Samad Razavi on a board showing A♠ 2♥3♣ 10♣ 4♣. Takayama had A♣ 10♠ for top two pairs against Razavi’s two pair of A♦ 2♠. With that win, he moved to the top of the chip count.

Shortly after, Takayama eliminated Raymi Sanchez in 4th place with his cowboys surviving against Sanchez’s A-8that did not find any light on the board. At the three-handed stage, Takayama started chipping away on Razavi and Jay Lubas‘ chips. He then claimed another hefty pot against Lubas that escalated his already massive pile of chips to around 4.5 million.

Takayama then railed Razavi in 3rd place with his A♦ J♠ landing a higher flush against Razavi’s A♣ 5♠on a board that ran 10♥ 10♠ 7♠ 6♠ 8♠. He then entered the heads up stage against Lubas with an overwhelming advantage of 6.2M chips versus Lubas’ 1M chips.

The heads up stage was not easy for Takayama who at one point doubled up Lubas when his pocket tens lost to Lubas’s full house on a board showing 7♦ K♠ 2♠ 8♥ 8♠. Lubas then started attacking Takayama’s stack and eventually stole the chip lead away from him. But that was short-lived. Takayama would not be affected and ruthlessly chipped away at Lubas’ stack until he reclaimed the lead and sealed the deal when his K♠ 8♥landed a dominating two pair on a board of 4♥ 8♠ J♠ K♦ 9♦.

Mike Takayama bagged the P3,453,000 first place purse and is the APT Asian Series Manila Main Event Champion!

The final prizes of the APT Manila Main Event are as follows-

Rank         Player Name Prize Money(PHP)
1 Mike Takayama 4,017,000.00
2 Jay Lubas 2,286,000.00
3 Sam Razavi 1,535,000.00
4 Ray Sanchez 1,078,000.00
5 Dennis Huntly 866,000.00
6 Alex Lee 686,000.00
7 Emmanuel Imperial, Jr. 539,000.00
8 John Jay Magadan 425,000.00

Here are the compiled results of the APT Manila

Event Winner Country Prize
NLH Re-Buys + 1 Add-On Lim Dae Hoon Korea ₱202,000
Ante Up for Charity Kunal Shetty India ₱92,000
Mix Game PLH / PLO Bryan Huang Singapore ₱185,000
Open Face Chinese Pineapple 60 Max  Jae Kyung Sim aka Simba Korea ₱111,300
High Rollers Feng Zhao Singapore ₱1,474,000
Head Hunter Gerard Bringley USA ₱522,500
Ladies of Poker  Rosemarie Villamar Philippines ₱78,400
No Limit Hold’em 1 Kai Paulsen Norway ₱379,000
Pot Limit Omaha Hi Adam Monaghan Australia ₱233,800
Deep Stack Turbo SJ Kim Korea ₱204,600
No Limit Hold’em 2 Abdulrachman Niko India ₱644,200
Ante Only Turbo  Lim Choo Kwang Malaysia ₱137,600
Heads Up 64 Max Lin Xiao Gang China ₱372,000
Deep Stack Turbo Ben Loo Malaysia ₱307,500
6 Handed Nguyen Van Sang Vietnam ₱546,400
Main Event Mike Takayama Philippines ₱3,453,000