Main Event progresses into Day 3, Tay Gay Peng leading with 617,000 chips

apt-asian-series-manila-logo-1024x465Tan Gay Peng leads in the Main Event of APT Manila 2014 at the end of Day 2. He has racked up 617,000 chips which includes a master pot of around 400K he won against Mike Takayama.

After a superb display of poker hands throughout the day on tables of Resorts World Manila, only 44 players could make it to the Day 3 of the Main Event. The most interesting part of Day 2 Main Event came up as the bubble burst when two players as in Lester Pinto and Paul John Santos had the same count of chips. Eventually, the cash prize at 45th place will be divided between them.

Abdulrachman Niko brought cheers to the Indian side with the No Limit Hold’em 2 title. He cashed in ₱644,200 on the final table defeating a pool of 130 players. Niko had a sensational hand in the last minutes of play as he overshot the Pocket Aces of Duong Vi Khoa with a straight followed by another straight which led him to the title.

Meanwhile, on the tables of Ante Only Turbo which was added to the tournament roster this season, 128 players assembled to battle out for the title. Lim Choo Kwang triumphed in this quick paced poker event defeating Arnaud Message in the heads up. He took home the dazzling trophy with ₱137,600 in cash.

Today 44 poker masters will take their seats at the Main Event tables and will try making it to the Top 8 finalists. To heighten the poker excitement, 2 more events as in Heads Up 64 Max & Deep Stack Turbo will go live on the tables today afternoon.

A list of winners at all the events climaxed till today:

Event Winner Country Prize
NLH Re-Buys + 1 Add-On Lim Dae Hoon Korea ₱202,000
Ante Up for Charity Kunal Shetty India ₱92,000
Mix Game PLH / PLO Bryan Huang Singapore ₱185,000
Open Face Chinese Pineapple 60 Max  Jae Kyung Sim aka Simba Korea ₱111,300
High Rollers Feng Zhao Singapore ₱1,474,000
Head Hunter Gerard Bringley USA ₱522,500
Ladies of Poker  Rosemarie Villamar Philippines ₱78,400
No Limit Hold’em 1 Kai Paulsen Norway ₱379,000
Pot Limit Omaha Hi Adam Monaghan Australia ₱233,800
Deep Stack Turbo SJ Kim Korea ₱204,600
No Limit Hold’em 2 Abdulrachman Niko India ₱644,200
Ante Only Turbo  Lim Choo Kwang Malaysia ₱137,600


Stay Tuned to OPN for all the news and updates of Asian Poker Tour Manila 2014.