2014 WSOP Asia Pacific: Scott Davies wins the Main Event Bracelet with AU$ 850,136

wsopapac14World Series of Poker Asia Pacific climaxed today at Crown Casino, Melbourne with Scott Davies clinching his 1st ever WSOP gold bracelet with a hefty cash prize of AU$850,136 in the Main Event. In the last event of WSOP APAC 2014 which was a High Roller NLHE, Mike Leah also won his 1st WSOP gleaming metal with AU$600,000.

$10,000 Main Event

Davies defeated a field of 329 players in 5 days of thrilling poker action and went on to win the heads up battle with a Full House (6d 6s 6h 10h 10s) against the Ten-Triplet (10c 10s 10h) of Jack Salter who finished in 2nd place with AU$ 516,960. Ang Italiano, the only female player on the final table was the 1st to bid goodbye in 6th place with AU$118,769. Frank Kassela looking for his 3rd WSOP bracelet was rivered by Salter’s in 5th place with AU$164,089. In the race to the coveted bracelet, Kyle Montgomery (4th; AU$ 231,287) and Henry Wang (3rd; AU$343,805) both busted against the champion Davies.

$25,000 High Roller

The 40-year-old Canadian poker player Mike Leah triumphed in the 10th event of WSOP APAC 2014 to win his 1st WSOP gold bracelet and the 2nd highest career cash win of AU$600,000 after $1,047,638 back in August at Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open. David Yan of New Zealand gave a tight competition in the heads up but felt short of the win with his Kh 4s against Leah’s Ks 7d. Jesse Sylvia (3rd; $216,811) and Jonathan Duhamel (4th; $145,003) finished in the tournament’s last event with sizeable cash prizes.

WSOP Asia Pacific returned in this season with double the number of bracelet than last year which drew over 2000 entries across 10 events in 17 days poker extravaganza. Although the Australian poker players dominated the tournament winning 6 bracelets in their den, WSOP APAC saw some lip smacking wins from players of the outer word as in Junzhong Loo of Malaysia bagging AU$ 107,500, the main event champion Scott Davies of USA taking home AU$ 850,136. Highlighting the action was the German poker pro, George Danzer who won his 3rd WSOP bracelet of 2014 and also became the WSOP Player of the Year topping the charts.

Below is the list of winners at all 10 events of WSOP APAC 2014.


Event Player Prize (in AU$)
$1,100 No-Limit Hold’em Accumulator Luke Brabin 131,365
$2,200 No-Limit Hold’em Junzhong Loo 107,500
$1,650 Pot-Limit Omaha Jeff Lisandro 51,660
$1,650 No-Limit Hold’em Terminator Scott Calcagno 61,250
$5,000 Pot-Limit Omaha Sam Higgs 127,843
$1,650 8-Game Dealer’s Choice Rory Young 42,720
$2,200 Six-Max No-Limit Hold’em Alexander Antonios 128,784
$5,000 8-Game Mixed George Danzer 84,600
$10,000 Main Event Scott Davies 850,136
$25,000 High Roller Mike Leah 600,000