Anju Abrol wins the 2nd Spadie for India at 2014 ACOP making a clean sweep this weekend

CROPTeam India prevailed this weekend with yet another win at the Asia Championship of Poker(ACOP) as Anju Abrol clinched the Spadie trophy in Event 2 of The Deepstack Championship bagging HK$401,400. Combined with 1st title win by Kunal Patni in Event 1 – Rebuy Championship for HK$176,000, India made a clean sweep in the opening weekend of 2014 ACOP. Anju triumphed over a sizeable field of 169 players in this event which run for 2 days on the poker tables of PokerStars Live, Macau.

Day 1 marked the elimination of poker fishes in quick round of play leading to the fierce competition towards the end of the day between the pros including the recent WSOP bracelet winner Rory Young, Raiden Kan and Adrien Choux. Day 2 of this event saw 23 players with the likes of Event 1 champion Kunal Patni, Daniel Laidlaw and Chong Hwee Tan returning for the final day battle. Meanwhile, the prize pool had easily surpassed its minimum guaranteed level to HK$1,639,300 to be awarded to the Top 19 finishers in the game.

After few long sessions of gameplay, the final table was reached with Raiden Kan in the chip lead position. Raiden maintained his biggest stacks for long on the final table but ultimately fell short of the title getting busted in 4th place for HK$139,300. Rory young was up against Anju in the heads up with slightly bigger stack than her. However, Anju dominated the Australian pro in an array of all-in hands to double her chip counts.

The 50-year old banker seized the title in her name with a straight in the last hand. “I won every all-in. It was unfair for him!” said a humble Abrol. “I had nothing to lose. I went in (to heads up play) thinking I would come second”, added the Event 2 champion. This weekend has revived the Indian poker community which lacked big wins and titles in international tournaments in past. The two back to back titles will definitely bolster Indian presence in 2014 ACOP and boost other Indian poker masters who are in the line-up to play further events. It would be interesting to watch how the Indian ships sails through the remaining 14 days of the tournament after this initial jolt.

Top 10 Results in Event 1-Rebuy Championship.

Place First Name Last Name Country Prize (HKD)
1 Kunal Patni India $ 176,200
2 Ken Hung Hong Kong $ 119,900
3 Florencio Campomanes Philippines $ 77,647
4 Fu Man Tin Hong Kong $ 63,400
5 Corey Kempson Australia $ 49,300
6 Xiao Yang China $ 42,300
7 Shu Xu China $ 35,200
8 Li Su China $ 28,200
9 Ben Wilson UK $ 21,100
10 Naoya Kihara Japan $ 17,600

Top 10 Results in Event 2- DeepStack Championship

Place First Name Last Name Country Prize (HKD)
1 Anju Abrol India $ 401,400
2 Rory Young Australia $ 270,500
3 Adrien Choux Hong Kong $ 172,100
4 Raiden Kan Malaysia $ 139,300
5 Chong Hwee Tan Singapore $ 110,700
6 Chun Tat Lee Hong Kong $ 90,200
7 Wai Leong Chan Malaysia $ 73,800
8 Kelvin Kwun Yip Cheng Hong Kong $ 57,400
9 Shinichiro Teraoka Japan $ 49,200
10 Angelina Rich USA $ 41,000

Stay tuned to OPN for all updates on action and results of further events of 201 ACOP.