2014 ACOP: Gabriel Le Jossec denies Sunny Jung back to back titles

Gabriel(standing) taking a breather before the ACOP final table took off.
Gabriel(standing) taking a breather before the ACOP final table took off.

Just when it looked that Sunny Jung was going to create ACOP history and win back to back titles, Gabriel Le Jossec stood in his way. The English Pro who told OPN that he didn’t expect it to make it this far and hadn’t booked a hotel room even for the Event’s fifth day won his first Asia Championship of Poker(ACOP) Title, the coveted spadie and HK$6,300,000.

The final table started with Jung in the chip lead position which he maintained throughout the game by sending the rivals to rail one after the other with an aggressive play. Two short stack players, Tore Lukashaugen (9th, HK$675,000) and Raiden Kan (8th, HK$813,100) busted out in the initial hour of play leaving 7 players in the race to the title. The game intensified and eventually it took four hours for the next elimination which came in form of Joseph Cheong who hurried to join the on-going High Roller event.

Following Cheong’s elimination, the two Russian players Konstantin Pogodin (6th, HK$1,350,000) and Vladimir Troyanovskiy (HK$1,620,000) soon hit the rail. Meanwhile, Zuo ‘ST’ Wang and the Canadian poker pro Ami Barer continued their run but were punched down by Jung which ended their title race. The 14 hours of exhausting gameplay ended with the champion Le Jossec taking down Jung in the heads-up.

“It was really hard,” the weary Le Jossec said. “I had to get lucky. It feels amazing, I just tried to not make mistakes. I’m very happy”, added the 2014 ACOP champion. However, a huge cash prize, a SLYDE wrist watch worth HK$60,000 and the ACOP trophy is what he got paid after a mammoth grind.

Gabriel Le Jossex with the ACOP Title
Gabriel Le Jossex with the ACOP Title

2014 ACOP Main Event – Final Table Results
Entrants: 291
Prize Pool: HK$27,092,100

1st: Gabriel Le Jossec (UK) – HK$6,300,000 (~US$812,000)
2nd: Sunny Jung (Korea) – HK$4,250,000 S(~US$550,000)
3rd: Zuo ‘ST’ Wang (China) – HK$2,565,000(~US$330,850)
4th: Ami Barer (Canada) – HK$$2,025,000 (~US$260,000)
5th: Vladimir Troyanovskiy (Russia) – HK$1,620,000 (~US$210,000)
6th: Konstantin Pogodin (Russia) – HK$1,350,000 (US$175,000)
7th: Joseph Cheong (USA) – HK$1,080,000 (~US$140,000)
8th: Raiden Kan (Hong Kong) – HK$813,100 (~US$100,000)
9th: Tore Lukashaugen (Norway) – HK$675,000 (~US$88,000)