Pete Chen caps APOY; Celina Lin and Steve O’Dwyer dominate the top poker players list

Pete ChenTaiwanese poker pro Pete Chen has formally been named the 2014 Asia Player of the Year (APOY). This year the performance of Chen was beyond comparison as he set the record for largest margin of victory (1,714) and final score of 5,691 points- the second biggest single-season total. During the year Chen earned HK$1,383,511 in Official APOY events.This was the greatest seasons ever since 2009 for the APOY as the 26-year old finished it with one title and seven final tables – including the main events at APPT Macau and Macau Poker Cup 21 in August.

Chen will have his name immortalized on the gold APOY legacy trophy joining past champions such as Team PokerStars Pro Bryan Huang who won the APOY title in 2010. He is also entitled to a one-year sponsorship to PokerStars Asia special events beginning in 2015. Presently, he ranks at No. 14 on the all-time list. Though the year ends in December but it brings along a lot of good luck with Christmas. 2014 has been bright for Team PokerStars Pro Celina Lin and Irish Poker Pro Steve O’Dwyer.

Celina Lin has topped the all-time list for 12,434 points and 26 final tables. The credit goes to her four major victories that gave her a place in a five-way tie for the most titles in Official APOY events. The 32-year old Steve O’Dwyer reached at the top of the all-time earnings list with HK$14,112,100 in winnings. He rocketed up the money leaderboard with his gigantic career win in the Super High Roller event at the 2014 Asia Championship of Poker (ACOP).

Amongst the Indian poker players, Akash Malik is ranked 64th with HKD 450,000 in 2014 winnings. Anju Abrol(72) and Kunal Patni(73) follow closely with their recent Spadie Wins. Kavish Kukreja is the 4th Indian poker player featuring in the top 100 positions of the APOY released by APPT.

The 2014 Asia Player of the Year-

Position Name Points
1 Pete Yen Han Chen 5,691
2 Ka Cheong Wong 3,977
3 Gabriel Le Jossec 3,607
4 Zhenru Xie 3,600
5 Mathew Ryan 3,448
6 Quan Zhou* 3,424
7 Victor Teng 3,422
8 Leon Li-ta Hsu 3,201
9 Amichai Barer 3,168
10 Allen Chen Wang 3,164