2015 Aussie Millions: Vic Spadavecchia wins Opening Event

Aussie Millions

The 2015 Aussie Millions Poker Championship started on January 14, 2015 with 21 championship events spread over 20 days. This year tournament is taking place in Australia itself, and the Crown Poker Room, Melbourne is the host to the biggest poker series happening in Australia. The series kicked off with the $1,150 No Limit Holdem Opening Event – the most popular event of the Aussie Millions Series.

The opening event welcomed top poker players like WSOP APAC winners Sam Higgs and Rory Young, Jack Salter, Scott Davies, and Ami Barer, and saw the participation of the notable female poker players like WSOP bracelet winner Jackie Glazier, Macau Poker Cup Red Dragon Winner Celina Lin, and the USA’s Sam Cohen.

After three full days of play inside the Crown Poker Room, an Australian local Vic Spadavecchia has claimed the first championship gold ring of the Aussie Millions series by winning $1,150 No Limit Holdem Opening Event. Spadavecchia who managed to reign above the giant field of 1,211 entrants, secured $215,000, a stunning Rolex watch valued at over $13,000 and the championship gold ring. The last two years of Aussie Millions saw international players taking home the first gold ring of the series. In 2013, it was the UK’s Rupert Elder who defeated a field of 1,338 players to win the title and $250,000 in prize money. Then in 2014, Italian Mustapha Kanit ruled out the field of 1,302 players to take home $196,000 following a heads-up deal.

The Top 5 players of $1,150 No Limit Holdem Opening Event are:

Rank Players Prize
1 Vic Spadavecchia $215,000
2 Derek Wolters $152,000
3 Amer Akkari $117,000
4 Andrew Hinrichsen $92,000
5 George Tang $72,000


Next comes the $1,150 No Limit Holdem Shotclock Shootout Event which was spread over 22 tables and saw participation of 198 entrants. At the end of final tabble, it was England’s Daniel Rudd who won the second event at the 2015 Aussie Millions – the $1,150 NLHE Shotclock Shootout earning $31,690 and the championship ring. Rudd dominated the final table for most of the time during his play before fading away late as the tournament reached climax.

The Top 5 players of $1,150 No Limit Holdem Shotclock Shootout Event are:

Rank Players Prize
1 Daniel Rudd  $31,690*
2 Hiroaki Harada $37,913*
3 Angel Guillen $35,397*
4 Gregory Cook $15,830
5 Rory Cook $13,200