Dhaval Mudgal wins the Ruby Rebuy event of Rockets Anniversary Series

dhaval-mudgal“Money is coming to Delhi” – The rail shouted at 11:15 PM at the Rockets Poker Room in Bangalore when Dhaval Mudgal hit an Ace high flush on the river in the final hand of Ruby Rebuy event. With that win, Dhaval ended his streak of bad luck which brought 3 money-bubbles in the recently finished Asian Poker Tour Philippines outing.

Bangalore poker tournaments have always drawn a mixed field of sharks, local regulars and newbies which makes the battle exciting with innumerous swings till the champion is crowned. It gives an opportunity to the local poker heros to prove themselves against the biggies in a comparatively shorter field than Goa thus, raising their chances to cash big. In the opening event of Rockets Anniversary Series – 5K Ruby Rebuy, the field saw many local regulars as in MuthuKumar, Kishan M, Mukunda Dasharathy competing against the notable pros like Kunal Patni, Sahil Agarwal, Dhaval Mudgal and Shravan Chhabria.

The 5K buy-in event which had an option of multiple Re-buys and a Final Add-on drew 43 registrations.  Players got into their aggressive gears making 3-bet/4-bet and shoving when action rolled out at the new premise of Rockets Poker Room in Indiranagar, Bangalore.  At the first game-break the field had bolted 63 Re-buys. With the elimination of notable players as in Rajeev Raut, Sahil Agarwal, Abhishek Goindi the young poker sensation Arsh Grover the filed was slashed down to half of its count.

The game intensified after furthermore eliminations fueled by 35 final add-ons in total. Manjit Bakshi who was on a good run in the mid-levels of the game busted as the final table bubble. Another hour of play saw Ashish Ahuja (9th), Sangeet Mohan (8th) and Krishna M (7th) getting eliminated from the race to finish in the money. However, the final table players had secured the money bubble with Rs 10K which Krishna M bagged for his efforts. He was closely followed to the rails by the Bangalore locals Mukunda Dashrathi (6th) and MuthuKumar (5th) who had won the Fly To Vegas promotion of Adda52.com in February this year.

Vinay B who was leading the final table lost few big pots and finally ended up in 4th place for Rs 60,000. In the next hand played, Shravan took leave from the FT taking home Rs 84,000 for the 3rd place finish.  Another Bangalore local Kishan M was up against Dhaval Mudgal in the heads-up and the duo struck a deal dividing the prize money in two equal halves and decided to battle for the title.

In the final hands, Dhaval hit a flush on the river when the board ran 6h 7d 6d Js 4d with Krishna’s Ks 9s and Dhaval’s Ad 5d. Dhaval Mudgal lifted the Ruby Rebuy trophy saying, “Bangalore is definitely becoming one of my favorite places to play poker. I bubbled three events at APT, Philippines and this win definitely pumps up the morale.”

Here is the list of winner and money finishers:

Position Player Prize (INR)
1 Dhaval Mudgal 1,72,500
2 Kishan M 1,72,500
3 Shravan Chhabria 84,000
4 Vinay B 60,000
5 MuthuKumar 42,000
6 Mukunda Dasharathy 30,000
7 Krishna M 10,000