Here Are the 10 Finalists of 2015 Poker Hall of Fame

2015-poker-hall-of-famePoker Hall of Fame, the elite club of poker personalities has 48 members and this year one or two new will be joining this league. Followed by a public voting and shortlisting, the PHOF Governing Council has announced the 10 finalists for 2015 Poker Hall of Fame. Chris Bjorin, David Chiu, Bruno Fitoussi, Jennifer Harman, John Juanda, Carlos Mortensen, Max Pescatori, Terry Rogers, Matt Savage, and the late David “Devilfish” Ulliott are the 10 candidates for this year’s prime accolade.

After the announcement, the list of 10 finalist have been submitted to the 23 living Hall of Fame members and a 16-person media panel who’ll finally decide on whom to induct in the 2015 Poker Hall of Fame. Once again, the following criterion needs to be fulfilled by the candidates to be inducted in this exclusive club:

  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

In 2014, the Canadian pro Daniel “Kidpoker” Negreanu and the Tournament Director Jack McClelland were inducted into Poker Hall of Fame. As per the traditions, the 2015 Class of the Poker Hall of Fame will be inducted during the Final Table of 2015 WSOP Main Event which is scheduled for 7-10 Nov. 2015. Out of the 10 finalists this year, Pescatori, Rogers, Savage, and Ulliott have been nominated for the first time while other 6 had been nominated in past.

In June this year, Phil Hellmuth, Tony G, Sam Tricket and many other pros of the industry pushed for David “Devilfish” Ulliott to be inducted into 2015 Hall of Fame. Ulliott has been the pioneer in UK poker industry winning both a WSOP bracelet and World Poker Tour title in his era. He also won the first-ever edition of Late Night Poker in 1999 which attracted the mainstream population towards this game of skill. Late Ulliott has more weightage in this list of 10 to be inducted in the 2015 Poker Hall of Fame.

Get all the latest updates from the poker world on your social media platforms Facebook, Twitter and Google+.