10th Anniversary of PokerStars Sunday Million Brings $10 Million GTD in Re-Entry Format

Sunday Million, one of the richest online poker tournaments which started in 2006 is going to complete 10 years in March 2016. Celebrating the 10th anniversary, PokerStars has announced a guaranteed prize pool of $10 Million (with a catch) in the Sunday Million on 20th March. The 10th anniversary edition will have the same buy-in and will be held at the same time as normal on March 20th, but in addition to the increased guarantee, it will allow players to re-enter up to three times within the extended registration period.pokerstars-sunday-million

The PokerStars Sunday million debuted on 5th March 2016 which drew 5,893 players creating a prize pool of $1,178,600. “aaaaaaaa” of Canada won the first Sunday Million bagging $173,843.50 in top prize. Since then, PokerStars has organized special Sunday Million tournaments at several instances. In 2011, the special edition Sunday Million celebrating 10th anniversary of the company saw a record 62,116 players generating a prize pool of $12,423,200 which stands the biggest prize pool of any online tournament till date.

By allowing up to three re-entries per player, the tournament is expected to meet the huge guarantees. However, the gameplay will drastically change with the option of re-entries as players having bigger bankrolls will play aggressively till the re-entry window remains open. Obviously, not everyone will want to contribute another $215 for an additional bullet, but fewer unique players will be able to generate more buy-ins than in a freezeout.

Team PokerStars Pro Jaime Staples, who will be hosting a live Twitch stream of the tournament while playing, said: “The Sunday Million Anniversary tournament is one of the biggest events on the poker calendar. And when you throw in a $10 million guaranteed prize pool and more than a thousand free seats as well, it’s a tournament that every poker player should aspire to play.”

Other Team PokerStars Pros confirmed to be playing include: Adrienne Rowsome, Andre Akkari, Bertrand ‘ElkY’ Grospellier, Celina Lin, Chris Moneymaker, Felipe ‘Mojave’ Ramos, Felix Schneiders, George Danzer, Grzegorz Mikielewicz, Jake Cody, Johnny Lodden, Jorge Limon, Kosei Ichinose, Liliya Novikova, Liv Boeree, Mickey Petersen, Naoya Kihara and Theo Jorgensen. Of those, Danzer, ElkY, Limon and Schneiders will be Twitch-streaming their play on their own channels.