ACOP 2016: Byung Hyu Na Defeats Record-Breaking Field to Win His First Spadie for HKD 949,761

After historic win of China’s Celina Lin, who became the first female player to win two Spadies after claiming the HK$11,000 Deepstack Championship, the Day 8 of the 2016 Asia Championship of Poker saw the American pro Byung Hyu Na grab the headlines after he won his first 2m GTD Spadie event, taking home HKD 949,761. He defeated a record-breaking field of 819 players to win this title.


The same event attracted 655 entries last year and but this time the field was surprisingly enormous at the Asia Championship of Poker (ACOP) with 819 players. Byung Hyu Na finally succeeded in defeating the entire field to claim his first Spadie. After winning his first title, the 45 year-old Na from the United States said “ Honestly I was shocked at how many people played,I never thought there would be 800-something people playing…I got pretty lucky.”

The HK$11,000 Deepstack Championship saw the top 81 players cash out for their share of the HK$6,434,883. When the field came down to last three, the survivors then made a three-way deal:
Byung Hyu Na- HK$949,761
Robert Schiffbauer-HK$985,761
Jarred Graham-HK$835,761

Later, the thrilling action started with Na sending Graham back to the rail and wining a big pot with 92 percent of the chips for the heads-up contest against Schiffbauer. The heads up lasted for only few minutes, as Na moved all-in preflop with his Kd-3h and Schiffbauer called with his Qh-4h. The board brought up 5d-8h-Kc-9d-10c, giving Na a pair of kings to win his first-ever Spadie title.

A Look at the Final Table Payouts:

#1. Byung Hyu Na (USA) — HK$949,761
#2. Robert Schiffbauer (UK) — HK$985,761
#3. Jarred Graham (Australia) — HK$835,761
#4. Thomas Miller (USA) — HK$402,200
#5. Roman Korenev (Russia) — HK$273,500
#6. David Man (Hong Kong) — HK$209,100
#7. Sebastien Clot (France) — HK$173,700
#8. Chris Chong (Singapore) — HK$144,800
#9. Kwok Chun Yip (Hong Kong) — HK$122,300

Stay tuned for the latest updates from the 2016 ACOP for the upcoming event right here.