James Moore, Chris Frank & Ben Yu Win Bracelets ; Raghav Bansal & Paawan Bansal Finish in the Money

There is massive action going on at the World Series of Poker (WSOP) 2017. While the series has crowned many champions till now, James Moore, Ben Yu and Chris Frank are the latest winners on the list. Team India is putting up a good performance and continues to headline across various WSOP events. In Event #37: $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em, India’s Raghav Bansal made it to Day 2 and was sitting at 49th place with 61,100 chips. Paawan Bansal too was seen in action and made it to Day 2 with 18,300 in chips. Let us have a look at winners:wsop image resized

 James Moore Wins Event #35: $1,000 Super Seniors No-Limit Hold’em

Event #35: $1,000 Super Seniors No-Limit Hold’em attracted a massive turnout of 1,476 poker players, building a prize pool of $1,328,400. The lion’s share was taken down by physician and radiologist James Moore of New Hope, PA in the end. He won the event to earn $230,626 and his first WSOP gold bracelet.“This is an unbelievable thrill for me,” said Moore after the win. “I had absolutely no expectations. It’s every poker player’s dream, and mine just came true.” He further added.

Moore entered the final day almost in the middle of the pack with 14 players remaining. However, the action was  fast and furious and he emerged as the champion in just over six hours. He was able to knock out many notables on the final table making it down to heads-up play against Charles Barker. The final showdown began with Moore holding nearly a 2-to-1 chip advantage.

In between, Barker was able to grab the lead and turn the game his way, but Moore quickly turned around and by the time the final hand was reached Moore was back into a comfortable lead. On the final hand of the play, Barker raised to 100,000 from the button and Moore called. The flop was Ad-Kd-3d. Both players checked the flop to see the turn Qd. On the turn, Barker moved all-in and Moore quickly called with his Jd-Qh for the nut flush. Barker had the 10d-7s for the second-nut flush. The river was a 7d and Moore locked up the hand, sending Barker to the rail as the runner up with $142,461.

Final Table Payouts:

1st: James Moore, $259,230

2nd: Kerry Goldberg, $160,120

3rd: John Isler, $115,357

4th: Veronica Daly, $84,005

5th: Ken Aldridge, $61,842

6th: Darrell Ticehurst, $46,029

7th: David Smith, $34,631

8th: Daniel Favreau, $26,365

9th: Terry Stuhldreher, $20,296

Ben Yu Claims Event #34: $10,000 Limit 2-7 Lowball Triple Draw Championship

In Event #34: $10,000 Limit 2-7 Lowball Triple Draw Championship, it was Ben Yu who was crowned as the champion. He won the event after beating a field of 80 players and a star-studded final table. Entering final day as third in chips, Yu soon chipped up and entered in heads up with Shaun Deeb. Deeb dominated at the start of the final day, with only 6 players left battling for the gold bracelet.

Three-handed play followed, with short stack Nick Schulman doubling up several times. Eventually, he was knocked out by Yu to enter the heads-up against Shaun Deeb. Ben Yu was looking for his second bracelet after his $10,000 Limit Hold’em Championship bracelet back in 2015. On the other hand, Deeb was expecting his third bracelet in 3 years. Eventually, it was Yu who triumphed in a thoroughly one-sided heads-up competition. He earned $232,738 and his second WSOP gold bracelet.

Final Table Payouts:

  1. Ben Yu – $232,738
  2. Shaun Deeb – $143,842
  3. Nick Schulman – $98,337
  4. Mike Watson – $68,601
  5. Shawn Buchanan – $48,854
  6. Mike Matusow – $35,532

Chris Frank Wins Event #33: $1,500 NLH

The young German player joined the list of World Series of Poker bracelet winners, as 22-year-old Chris Frank defeated a huge field of 1,698 to win Event #33: $1,500 No-Limit Hold’em for $384,833.

Before this, Frank had a bit of success playing live tournaments, winning $1 million in cashes but he was thrilled all the same when he defeated Ryan Leng in the heads-up match. “I don’t think it really has sunk in yet,” Frank said. “It’s a very good feeling. I’ve been playing the live circuit for pretty long, and I’ve always dreamed of winning something big. Now, I’ve done it, so that’s pretty cool.”

Final Table Payouts:

  1. Chris Frank – $384,833
  2. Ryan Leng – $237,776
  3. Arkadiy Tsinis – $171,028
  4. Pratyush Buddiga – $124,615
  5. Grant Denison – $91,699
  6. Georgios Sotiropoulos – $68,226
  7. Noah Vaillancourt – $51,332
  8. Max Pescatori – $39,060
  9. Michael Gagliano – $30,063

Raghav Bansal and Paawan Bansal Make Money in Event 37

 While several Indians were seen in action in Event #37: $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em, two of them Raghav Bansal and Paawan Bansal made it to Day 2 . Among those entering Day 2, India’s Raghav claimed 49th place with 61,100 in chips and Paawan secured 191st place with a short stack of 18,300 in chips.

Day 2 of Event #37: $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em started with 238 players. All of them knew that they had cashed for at least $1,678, but they had their eyes on the first prize of $292,880 and the gold bracelet.  India’s Raghav started the day 49th in chips but went out very early, finishing in 139th place for $1,974. Paawan despite being a short stack among the survivors showed a good character and managed to finish in 74th place for $3,171.

The tournament is now down to final 20 players and the overwhelming chip leader after Day 2 is Chris Johnson with 1,242,000 in chips. He is followed by Vlad Darie with 902,000 chips. The third in the chip counts is Joep Raemakers with 890,000 in chips. Other notables still in the hunt are Day 1 leader Chad Eveslage (564,000), Michael Gathy (672,000), and Eric Blair (825,000). Among those who did not make it to final day were Barry Greenstein, Martin Jacobson, Mark Seif, Louis Salter, and defending champion Chase Bianchi, who left the tournament in 28th place.

Day 3 kicks off at noon on Wednesday and plays down to a winner. Keep following OPN for the latest updates.