APT Finale Macau: Varun Gupta and Adda52 Team Pro Kunal Patni Enter Day 3 of Main Event

The Day 2 of the HK$11,000 Main Event of APT Finale Macau Championships 2017 being hosted the Macau Billionaire Poker Room in Babylon Casino has ended with 24 survivors moving into Day 3 action. The good news for India’s poker community is that two Indian contenders –Varun Gupta and Adda52 Team Pro Kunal Patni are still there in the contention for the coveted title.


The Main Event drew 157 runners across 2 starting flights (61 players on Day 1A and 96 entries on Day 1B) and created a whopping HK$1,507,200 in prize pool with the top 18 players going to make the money. Among the remaining 24 for the day 3 action, all eyes from Indian poker community will now be on Varun Gupta who holds a stack of 201,000 and Kunal Patni who has 71,000 in chips.

Several well-known Indian players joined in the Main Event action, including Kalyan Chakravarthy(Day 1B chip leader), Zarvan Tumboli, Nishant Sharma, Ronak Vyas and Sumit Sapra. While they all made it to Day 2, they failed to survive and move into the Day 3.

Main Event Day 2

Day 2 kicked off with 88 survivors returning to resume the action and at the end of the day, only 24 hopefuls remained in the field. Malaysia’s Michael Soyza managed to build the largest stack of 355,000 chips followed closely by Chinese Taipei’s Jack En-Ching Wu with just1,000 less chips.

Day 1A leader Wei Guoliang and Day 1B leader Kalyan Chakravarthy failed to move into Day 3. Chakravarthy fell in a bizarre hand of the day. On the flop Kx Qx 5x, Soyza bet and Chakravarthy called. The turn card was 7x and Soyza moved all-in with Jx 10x and Chakravarthy made a good call with Qx 6x. However, the 9x river completed the board and Soyza hit a straight to win.Nikita 880x150

Some other notables who could not move into Day 3 included Zarvan Tumboli, Ronak Vyas, Nishant Sharma, Sumit Sapra along with some well-known players, Soo Jo Kim, Xixiang Luo, Yohwan Lim, Iori Yogo, Pete Chen, Albert Paik, Sparrow Cheung, Yuri Ishida, Victor Chong, and Tetsuya Tsuchikawa.

Keep following Online Poker News (OPN) for the latest updates and news from the poker world.