India’s Varun Gupta Ships APT Finale Main Event for HKD 300,400 (24.81)

India’s well-known poker player Varun Gupta has won the main event of the APT Finale Macau Championships 2017 presented by the Asian Poker Tour (APT). The player put up a splendid performance to beat Jack En-Ching Wu from China to take home HKD300,400 (US$38,449).Nikita 880x150

The 5-day main event took place at the Macau Billionaire Poker room at Babylon Casino at Macau Fisherman’s Wharf and drew 157 entries. Finally, Gupta who started 6th in chips among 8 final-tablists made his way to the top to claim his first-ever APT Championship Ring and APT Championship Trophy along with the top prize money. Taiwanese player Jack Wu En-Ching ranked second for HKD310,000, followed by Lim Shyh Chyn from Malaysia, who earned HKD156,000 in prizemoney.

The elated Gupta said, “No doubt it is the best feeling one can get playing the first international trip and get in 1st position playing with the sickos and regulars. It’s amazing. Top of the world!”

Heads-Up BattleHeads-Up2-400x265

After Shyh Chyn Lim going out in 3rd place, Gupta entered the heads-up play with 1.595M to Wu’s 2.33M. Before the game continued, a deal was discussed and reached. Wu agreed to take HKD 310,000, while Gupta was guaranteed HKD 280,400. Later, both players played just for the title.

Although Wu was a very experienced player, it did not take long for Gupta to beat him. Gupta won three big pots to take a commanding lead and although Wu fought back retook the lead, Gupta went on to double up with pocket fours against the Ax 7x of Wu. On the final hand, Wu moved all-in with Jd-10d and Gupta made the call holding Kc-Js. The board ran dry and Gupta won with the King high.

Final Table Payouts (HKD):

1st Varun Gupta – India – HKD 300,400 (deal made)

2nd Jack En-Ching Wu – Chinese Taipei – HKD 310,000 (deal made)

3rd Shyh Chyn Lim – Malaysia – HKD 156,000

4th Kwok Luen Hei – Hong Kong – HKD 113,800

5th Kai Paulsen – Norway – HKD 94,200

6th Austin Walton – USA – HKD 77,600

7th Michael Soyza – Malaysia – HKD 64,100

8th Anson Wong Fuk On – Hong Kong – HKD 53,500