Scott Baumstein Tops 1,366 Entries To Win WPTDeepstacks Hollywood Main Event

Scott Baumstein topped a 1,366 entry field to win the Season 5 WPTDeepStacks Hollywood Main Event on Tuesday night at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino. He won his first WPTDeepStacks title and $223,238 in top prize money, which also included a $3,000 WPTDeepStacks Championship prize package.  With this victory, Baumstein took his career earnings to around $1.836 million.

“I feel good, I’m just glad it’s over,” Baumstein told after the win. “It was a long day, I ran well, and that’s what you have to do to win poker tournaments,” said Baumstein after the win.”

Baumstein dominated the final table, eliminating seven out of his eight opponents to make his way to the top. The final table was off to a slow start and it took almost one hour for the first elimination, which came in the form of Michael Aron followed by Ness Reilly eliminated in the 8th place by the eventual winner Baumstein who then went on to eliminate Ramon Miquel in the 7th place.

Later, Baumstein began putting more pressure on his remaining opponents and eliminated Justin Harvell in the 6th place. Up next, he busted A.J. Kelsall in the 5th place, and then went on to take out Stephen Smith in the 4th place. He continued his aggression and sent Matt Zarcadoolas to the rail in the 3rd place, eventually entering the heads-up against Lumni Zhuta with 23.6 million.

The heads-up saw Zhuta doubling up through Baumstein on four occasions, but Baumstein took control once again and eventually went on to win the coveted title. On the last hand of the tournament, Baumstein held A-K and his opponent had 6-3. The board ran Kh-9c-5d-9h-5h, crowning Baumstein as the Season 5 WPTDeepStacks Hollywood Main Event champion880x150_Whale-DepositOPN

Final Table Payouts (USD):

  1. Scott Baumstein – $223,238*
  2. Lumni Zhuta – $155,126
  3. Matt Zarcadoolas – $100,579
  4. Stephen Smith – $74,549
  5. A.J. Kersall – $56,239
  6. Justin Harvell – $45,398
  7. Ramon Miquel – $37,440
  8. Ness Reilly – $29,587
  9. Michael Aron – $22,025

Keep following Online Poker News (OPN) for the latest update and news from the poker world.