Matt Montgomery Takes Down Inaugural WPTDeepStacks Fresno Main Event For $70,650

Matt Montgomery defeated a strong field of 258 entries to win the Season 5 WPTDeepStacks Fresno Main Event at Club One Casino. The player from nearby Visalia, California bagged his first-ever WPTDeepStacks title for $70,650 for his wonderful performance through the tournament.

Post his grand victory, Montgomery said, “It was definitely the best tournament I’ve ever been a part of, partially because I won. But I had a really good time and I thought the structure was great, a lot of play for the price. Club One did a great job, you guys did a great job; all in all, it was a great experience.”

Feeling excited about playing in the WPTDeepStacks Championship in December, he said. “I’ve never been to Canada, so I might go skiing, I might go snowboarding, who knows. I can’t wait to play the Main Event up there, it’s going to be a blast.”

The final table action was fast and furious. WPTDeepStacks Fresno Player of the Series Ashkun Lajevardi was the first to exit the final table in 9th place. Following him were  Elizabeth Tedder finishing in 8th place and Kosal Ok taking 7th place. Later, Mario Lopez went out in 6th place and Kyle Kirkland finished a deep run in 5th place a few hands later. Up next, it was Ronnie Saephan, who took 4th place, and he was followed by Phil Ortiz in the 3rd place.


The heads-up began with Matt Montgomery holding 3,475,000 into the final battle against Delmiro Toledo’s stack of 2,975,000. Toledo was able to double up in between, but Montgomery won a couple of big hands to increase his chip lead again. The final hand saw Montgomery holding 10d-9d and Toledo having 9c-2c. The board ran 10c-7c-10h-3h4h where Montgomery won the pot to take down the title for the top prize of $70,650, which also includes a $3,000 Championship prize package.

Season 5 WPTDS Fresno Final Table Results:

1: Matt Montgomery – $70,650*

2: Delmiro Toledo – $47,590

3: Phil Ortiz – $30,445

4: Ronnie Saephan – $18,520

5: Kyle Kirkland – $14,300

6: Mario Lopez – $11,850

7: Kosal Ok – $9,950

8: Elizabeth Tedder – $8,315

9: Ashkun Lajevardi – $6,765