2018 WSOP Main Event: 3 Indians Make Day 5; Barry Hutter Leads Final 310

Day 4 of the 2018 World Series of Poker (WSOP) $10,000 buy-in main event is over, and after over 40 hours of poker action in this event, the massive field of 7,874 entries has now come down to just 310 players battling it out for the much-coveted WSOP bracelet and the first-place prize of $8,800,000.

2015 WSOP $1,500 NLH shootout event winner Barry Hutter has bagged the chip lead heading into day 5 with 5,597,000. The 31-year-old poker player from Sarasota, Florida has over $4.2 million in total live earnings and is in a good position to add to his total with a deeper run in this event.

Team India

Many Indian players took part in this event and 9 of them ran deep and made it to Day 4, including the young gun Nishant Sharma (684,000), PokerStars pro Aditya Agarwal (653,000), Rohan Bhasin (458,000), Kartik Ved (144,900), Jaideep Sajwan (104,000), Apoorva Goel (102,000), Vivek Rughani (97,000), Sriharsha Doddapaneni (85,000) and London-based Yudhishter Jaswal (48,000).

Out of our nine players on Day 4 in the tournament, only Nishant Sharma (1,172,000), Kartik Ved (1,096,000) and Vivek Rughani (1,076,000) could make it to Day 5 of the event. Six of our Indian challengers exited the tournament on Day 4 itself. The first man to go out was Apoorva Goel. He ended the day taking home a payday of $15,000 for his 1,148th place. Next to him was DPT April 2018 Super High Roller winner Sriharsha Doddapaneni, who took 1,057th place to pocket $15,920.

Yudhishter Jaswal finished in 977th place for $15,920, while Rohan Bhasin departed from the tournament in 731st place, taking home a payday of $19,900. All eyes were on India’s star player Aditya Agarwal who unfortunately exited the tournament in 717th place for $19,900. Following Agarwal was Jaideep Sajwan, who ran quite deep to finish in 589th place for an impressive $23,940.

Some notables bagging huge stacks into Day 5 include 2015 WPT Lucky Hearts Poker Open Main Event winner Brian Altman (4,861,000), three-time bracelet winner Brian Yoon (3,228,000), 2017 main event third-place finisher Benjamin Pollak (2,765,000), 2009 main event ninth-place finisher James Akenhead (2,187,000), three-time bracelet winner Shaun Deeb (2,175,000) and two-time bracelet winner Cliff Josephy (1,985,000) and three-time WPT main event winner Chino Rheem (1,900,000).

Joe Cada is the only main event champion still left in the mix. The 2009 world champion and three-time bracelet winner hold 550,000 in chips. A number of other main event champions who made Day 4 but failed to advance included Johnny Chan, Tom McEvoy, and Jonathan Duhamel.

A Quick Look at Top Chip Counts:

Rank Player Chip Count
1 Barry Hutter 5,597,000
2 Alexander Haro 5,031,000
3 Brian Altman 4,861,000
4 Andres Jeckeln 4,506,000
5 Hari Bercovici 3,510,000
6 Kelly Minkin 3,459,000
7 Franklin Azevedo 3,410,000
8 Ubaid Habib 3,300,000
9 Nicholas Newport 3,269,000
10 Krasimir Yankov 3,264,000
11 Shannon Shorr 3,243,000
12 Brian Yoon 3,228,000
13 Shaun Odonnell 3,145,000
14 Stanley Lee 3,134,000
15 Alexander Ziskin 3,090,000