WSOP Main Event Final Table Set With Nicolas Manion In Lead; Joe Cada Eyeing His Second Title

The 2018 World Series of Poker $10,000 buy-in main event is finally down to final nine players. From a field of 7,874 entries, the second largest field in the WSOP tournament’s history that created a giant prize pool of over $74 million, only nine players remain now to battle it out for the bracelet and the first place prize of $8,800,000. Leading them is Nicolas Manion, who holds staggering 112,775,000. He won the largest pot last night to take the lead in this 2018 WSOP Main Event.

Manion raised 1.5 million and got called by Labat. WSOP bracelet winner Yueqi Zhu then moved all-in from the hijack for 24.7 million and Manion shoved for 43.1 million with his pocket Aces. Labat, who covered Manion, tanked for a while and then called. Manion found himself in a dream scenario as both his opponents held pocket Kings. Manion’s Aces finally held up and Zhu was busted in 10th place as the final table bubble, taking home $850,025, while Labat fell to the short stack.

Today was the Day 7 of the main event and there was no Indian player in the mix as our challengers Nishant Sharma and Vivek Rughani exited the tournament yesterday. Sharma finished in a record 34th place for a huge $230,475 (INR 1.58 Crore) to become India’s only player to run so deep in a WSOP main event, while Rughani ended his dream run in 88th place for $77,695 (INR 53.47 Lac).

Now we are just a few hours away for a new champion to be crowned tomorrow. It could be a new winner, or it could be a former bracelet winner Joe Cada, who is still in the mix. Cada shipped the 2009 WSOP Main Event for $8.546 million and now he will be eyeing his second title. If he manages to win it again, he will become the fifth player in the world to win a WSOP Main Event twice!

Final Table Chip Counts

1. Nicolas Manion – 112,775,000

2. Michael Dyer – 109,175,000

3. Tony Miles – 42,750,000

4. John Cynn – 37,075,000

5. Alex Lynskey – 25,925,000

6. Joe Cada – 23,675,000

7. Aram Zobian – 18,875,000

8. Artem Metalidi – 15,475,000

9. Antoine Labat – 8,050,000