APPT Manila High Roller: Hon Cheong Lee Wins; Sahil Agarwal Finishes 2nd For His Career Best PHP 4,656,260

Team India continues to make headlines at the ongoing APPT Manila 2018 series and it is evidenced by several amazing runs by Indian challengers. After Akshay Nasa finishing 2nd for INR 36.67 Lac in National event, Jasven Saigal finishing 8th for INR 1.40 Lac in Turbo Megastack and Chiraag Patel taking down the NLH Turbo event a couple of days ago, it is now Sahil Agarwal creating waves.

Sahil Agarwal has notched up his career-best score of PHP 4,656,260 (INR 60.66 Lac) by finishing runner-up in the High Roller Event, which found a winner in Hong Kong’s Ivan Hon Cheong Lee who earned PHP 4,676,260. This was not Agarwal’s first cash as he also finished 84th in the Main Event.

Another Indian challenger who shined in the High Roller event was the DPT April 200K Super High Roller winner Sriharsha Doddapaneni who finished in 9th place for PHP 553,000 (INR 7.2 Lac). Sriharsha has been in great form at the series. He finished 43rd in the Main Event just a day ago.

India’s first WSOP bracelet winner Aditya Sushant from Chennai was also a part of this High Roller, but he exited in 18th place. He ended up becoming the money bubble. He was eliminated by the fellow countryman and runner-up finisher Agarwal, whose Ace-Jack beat Sushant’s pocket Nines.

Several notable pros entered this High Roller event. Some of those who made money in this event included Yan Li (11th for PHP 454,000), Kitty Hui-chen Kuo (12th for PHP 398,000), Phanlert Sukonthachartnant (13th for PHP 398,000), Gabriel Carter (14th for PHP 365,000), Canlin Chen (15th for PHP 365,000), John Tech (16th for PHP 347,000) and Thomas Floan (17th for PHP 347,000). Thai Loc Le bubbled the event finishing  in10th place for PHP 454,000.

The 2-day tournament featured a buy-in of PHP 200,000 (INR 2.6 Lac ) and the 124 registered entries in this event took the prize pool to a whopping PHP 22,131,520 (INR 2.88 crore). A total of 17 places were paid out with a minimum cash prize of PHP 347,000 (~INR 4.52 Lac). The lion’s share went to the Hong Kong poker pro, Hon Cheong Lee, who won the event for PHP 4,676,260 (INR 60.94 Lac).


Final Table Payouts (PHP):

  1. Hon Cheong Lee – PHP 4,676,260 (~$87,953)
  2. Sahil Agarwal – PHP 4,656,260
  3. Konstantin Pogodin – PHP 2,446,000
  4. Maxim Befus – PHP 2,025,000
  5. Randy Lew – PHP 1,633,000
  6. Yilin Yang – PHP 1,288,000
  7. Xin Fan – PHP 985,000
  8. Jae Wook Shin – PHP 741,000
  9. Sriharsha Doddapaneni – 553,000