John DuBois Enters WPT Seminole Rock ‘N’ Roll Poker Open Day 3 As The Chip Leader

The record-breaking 898-entry field of the WPT Seminole Rock ‘N’ Roll Poker Open is down to just 52 players. A total of 333 players returned for Day 2 play but the action was fast and the field finally came down to just 52 players with John DuBois in lead. The Florida native DuBois holds 1.715 million in chips, which gives him a slim lead over Brent Kallman, who has bagged 1.645 million.

Hailing from Palmetto Bay, Florida, DuBois is enjoying his first WPT cash. When not at the poker table, DuBois manages his surveillance technology company and is also the vice mayor of his town. Currently, DuBois is the mayor of the Hard Rock as he is leading the remaining 52 players into Day 3.

“I generally do well at the Hard Rock tournaments here at this location. For some reason, I always do horribly out in Vegas at the WSOP events,” DuBois said.

DuBois collected the majority of his chips close to the day end when he picked up a massive pot with a full house against Jonathan Jaffe’s flush. The player held 4d 4s and the board ran out Ad Kc 4c 6c As where he hit a full house. “It was a big pot and I just smooth called because he could have had Ace-King. That was a hand that really stood out and was probably the luckiest,” DuBois commented.

The bubble burst after the dinner break on Day 2 when Donovan Walker went all-in for 8,000 from the big blind with his Jh 9h and ran into Js Jd of Rees Scruggs. The board did not help Walker and the all remaining 113 players entered ‘In The Money’ stage where a minimum cash of $5,845 is assured.

The remaining 52 players are guaranteed at least $9,895 each and the first prize is a whopping $504,820. The play for Day 3 is set to start today (Monday). There are still a lot of talented players are remaining, including the defending Rock ‘N’ Roll Poker Open champion, Michael Newman, who ended his day with 470,000. The past WPT final tablists to bag chips include Paul Balzano (1.4 million), Farid Jattin (1.38 million), Jim Gilbert (1.35 million), Joe McKeehen (1.27 million), Ryan Yu (1.135 million), Chris Limo (695,000), and David Peters (270,000). Season X WPT Player of the Year Joe Serock has bagged 905,000 in chips and he is joined by other WPT royalty in the form of Champions Club members Jonathan Jaffe (1.15 million), Erkut Yilmaz (520,000), and Ravi Raghavan (215,000).

Keep following Online Poker News (OPN) for the latest updates and news from the poker world.