Jason Young Outlasts Record 1,634 Entries To Win WPTDeepStacks Hollywood ME

Former World Series of Poker (WSOP) bracelet winner Jason Young topped a massive field of 1,634 entries to walk away with the WPTDeepStacks Hollywood Main Event title for a whopping $263,205.

Jason Young, a single dad from New York who currently holds total live earnings of $1,096,719, entered the tournament through Day 1B and ended the day with a commendable stack of 109,000. His stack went to 2,930,000 by the end of Day 2 and by Day 3 he had bagged the chip lead.

The $1,100 buy-in tournament hosted at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Hollywood, Florida drew a record 1,634 entries and became the second largest Main Event in WPTDeepStacks history.

The record field generated a prize pool of $1,584,980, which was shared by the top 205 finishers with min-cashes starting from $1,695. After five days of play, Young entered the tournament’s final table as the chip leader with a solid stack. He went on to eliminate 4 out of the 9 players who made it to the FT, including Quinn Bruno, Pedro Aldave, Paul James Hizer and the runner-up Leif Force.

The heads-up was a short affair and it saw Young lose his chip lead and then climb back to claim the title. During the duel, Force managed to weaken his opponent for a while. However, the player could not maintain his momentum and eventually had to settle for the runner-up prize of $183,540.

On the final hand, Force holding 10d 10h raised to 1,000,000 and Young called with Kc Js. The flop opened 9h 4d 2h and Young check-called for 1,200,000. The turn was Ks. Young checked again, while Force bet 2,200,000. Young check-raised to 7 million and Force called. After the river 8c opened, Young shoved and Force called for his last 7 million. The top pair of kings won Young the title along with the top prize of $263,205, which also includes a $3,000 WPTDeepStacks Championship package.

Each of the final-tablists was guaranteed a minimum $26,025. Stephen Ibrahim earned the minimum payout for his 9th place finish. Eddy Sabat earned $34,125 for finishing 8th. He was followed by Quinn Bruno, Pedro Aldave, and Dave Inselberg, who scooped $43,930, $53,785, and $66,760. Kevin Chan and Paul James Hizer were the next to leave, earning $89,000 and $119,820, respectively.

Some notables to cash the tournament were Nick Yunis (10th – $19,380), Sheddy Siddiqui (13th – $14,965), Daniel Eichhorn (15th – $14,965), Joe Cheong (28th – $5,630), Warren Sheaves (41st – $4,685), Rex Clinkscales (53rd – $4,050), Loni Harwood (69th – $3,260), Brian Altman (101st – $2,660), David Levi (134th – $2,310), David To (152nd – $2,120), and Anthony Zinno (162nd – $2,025).

Final Table Payouts (USD):

  1. Jason Young – $263,205*
  2. Leif Force – $183,540
  3. Paul James Hizer – $119,820
  4. Kevin Chan – $89,000
  5. Dave Inselberg – $66,760
  6. Pedro Aldave – $53,785
  7. Quinn Bruno – $43,930
  8. Eddy Sabat – $34,125
  9. Stephen Ibrahim – $26,025