Nick Schwarmann Leads Final 29 After WPT Borgata Winter Poker Open Day 3

The record-breaking 1,415-entry field of this year’s WPT Borgata Winter Poker Open has come down to the final 29 players after Day 3 of the popular event. American pro Nick Schwarmann has made it to the top by bagging 4.565 million. Schwarmann held the lead for major part of the day and then he won a big pot against Ryan Hagerty near the end of last night to swing back into the chip lead.

Following Schwarmann in chips is Dylan Gang with a stack of 4.065 million. Brandon Hall rounds out the top three on the chip counts chart with 3.87 million. Daniel Buzgon (3.765 million chips) and Melad Marji (3.35 million chips) are the other players among the top five of the leaderboard.

There are no former WPT Main Event champs left among the final 29. Olivier Busquet was the last former champion standing, but he went out in 32nd place last night for a payout of $21,369. India’s Aditya Agarwal was in the mix in the main event of the series, but got busted on Day 2

Some other notables who did not make it among the final 29 included WPT Raw Deal host Phil Hellmuth (102nd place), WPT Gardens final tablist Steve Sung ( 83rd place) and three-time WPT Main Tour Main Event winner Anthony Zinno, who was eliminated in 175th place last night.

This year, the $3,500 Main Event of the WPT Borgata Winter Poker Open drew a record field of 1,415 entries to generate a prize pool of $4,529,415. The money was split into payouts for the top 177 finishers, with min-cashes starting from $6,024. The money bubble has already burst early on Day 3.

Day 4 of the event starts today and will play down to the final table of six. Each of the remaining 29 players is guaranteed a min-cash of $21,369. And each of the six finalists will earn a payout of around $154,734. The eventual champion will receive $728,430, including a ticket into the season-ending Baccarat Crystal WPT Tournament of Champions. Watch out for our latest updates!

A Quick Look at Top 10 Chip Counts:

  1. Nick Schwarmann  –  4,565,000
  2. Dylan Gang  –  4,065,000
  3. Brandon Hall  –  3,870,000
  4. Daniel Buzgon  –  3,765,000
  5. Melad Marji  –  3,350,000
  6. Steven Sarmiento  –  2,950,000
  7. Brandon Shane  –  2,890,000
  8. Chase Bianchi  –  2,760,000
  9. Andrew Crookston  –  2,740,000
  10. Dave Peay  –  2,630,000