WPT Vietnam HR: Jaewook Shin Wins; Nikunj Jhunjhunwala Is Best Finisher Among 4 Indians

 Running from 14th to 24th March, the 2019 World Poker Tour (WPT) Vietnam hosted at the Pro Poker Club in Ho Chi Minh Cityis is in the books. One of the biggest events to conclude the series was the VND 50,000,000 buy-in High Roller that drew an a total 212 entries across its two starting flights. It was Korea’s Jaewook Shin who won it for VND 1,91,38,69,000 (INR 56.99 Lac) after a 3-way chop.

Shin held the lead for a major part of the final table. Yam Chun had taken the lead for a while, but he lost it soon to Shin after his jacks lost to Shin’s aces. After Benjamin Gonzva exited in the 4th place, the final 3 players struck a deal guaranteeing Shin VND 1,613,869,000, Lee VND 1,466,314,000 and Phachara Wongwichit VND 1,430,058,000, and an additional VND 300M to the champion.

Phachara Wongwichit was the first of the three to exit the tournament in third place. The final showdown happened between Jaewook Shin and Wai Kiat Lee with the latter finishing runner-up. The final hand saw Ad 9s and Shin 10d 2d. The board opened 10s 2c 8s 6d 6h giving the title to Shin.

Team India

Indians put up excellent performances with Kalyan Chakravarthy, Abhinav Iyer, and Nikunj Jhunjhunwala, all qualifying from Day 1A. Manoj Pentakota, Yasheel Doddanavar and Nitin Gupta qualified from Day 1B making for a total of six Indian players among 54 runners for Day 2 play.

The remaining 54 returned to resume their battle on Day 2 and there were six Indian players, namely Kalyan Chakravarthy (16,96,000), Abhinav Iyer (5,78,000), Yasheel Doddanavar (5,23,000), Manoj Pentakota (3,58,000), Nikunj Jhunjhunwala (2,05,000) and Nitin Gupta (1,71,000) in contention.

Unfortunately for Doddanavar and Pentakota, they had to return empty-handed. It was also not a good day for Chakravarthy as he became the first Indian to hit the rail exiting in 27th place for VND 69,170,000 ( INR 2.06 Lac). Following him were Iyer (20th VND 112,280,000 – INR 3.34 Lac) and Gupta (17th for VND 140,350,000 – INR 4.17 Lac). 2018 WPT Indian Main Event winner Jhunjhunwala enjoyed deepest run among the six Indians and finished 16th for VND 140,350,000 (INR 4.17 Lac).

Final Table Payouts (VND):

  1. Jaewook Shin – VND 1,913,869,000*
  2. Wai Kiat Lee – VND 1,466,314,000*
  3. Phachara Wongwichit – VND 1,430,058,000*
  4. Benjamin Gonzva – VND 583,390,000
  5. Edward Yam Chun Ho – VND 450,520,000
  6. Duy Tung Nguyen – VND 373,330,000
  7. Tanaka Masatoshi – VND 318,130,000
  8. Tsang Kayu – VND 272,280,000
  9. Soo Jo Kim – VND 227,370,000

Want to win big in poker but don’t have account as yet? Sign-up HERE & get 1000 to play!

header ad banner