Aaron Mermelstein Wins 2019 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown High Roller For $618,955

The 2019 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown(SHRPS) $25,000 NLH High Roller event attracted a total of 99 entries, easily crushing the $2 million guarantee to generate $2,445,300 in the final prizepool. In the end, it was Aaron Mermelstein who emerged champion. The two-time WPT main event champion Mermelstein earned $618,955 and his first high roller title for his grand victory.

“I live here part-time now so for me it’s nice to get a big win here especially against a lot of the tougher competition. Feels sort of like home. It feels good. This is my first cash in a $25K, so it’s nice to win the first one,” Mermelstein told Seminole Hard Rock Poker reporters after his first WPT High Roller win.

Day 2 of the SHRPS $25,000 NLH High Roller event began with 16 competitors remaining and only top 14 set to make money. It was Jonathan Jaffe who exited the tournament as the Money Bubble. He ran his Kc Jc into the pocket Kings of Alex Foxen and thus exited the event empty handed.

When the final table was reached, nobody had much of a stack as everyone was under 40 big blinds. The first player to exit the final table was Ben Yu. The three-time WSOP bracelet winner moved all in for 295,000 with 4h 4s and James Calderaro called with 10c 10s. Both players hit full house but the latter won the pot with a better full house, busting Ben Yu in 9th place for $68,470.

Later, Brandon Adams ran his As Kd into Joe McKeehen’s Ac As and got busted in 8th place for $70,915.  Up next, Alan Schein got busted in 7th place for $83,140. He shoved his As 9s and was called by James Calderaro holding Jc 10c. Calderaro rivered a jack pair to eliminate Schein.

Mermelstein took the chip lead by knocking out Niall Farrel in sixth place ($100,255). His pocket nines held up against As Qh of Farrell to win him the coveted pot. 2015 WSOP main event champion Joe McKeehen busted Shannon Shorr in fifth place ($136,935) and James Calderaro in fourth place ($210,295)) to head into 3-handed play with Mermelstein and Foxen.

During three-handed play, Mermelstein raised to 175,000 and McKeehen moved all-in for 1,550,000. Foxen shoved behind and Mermelstein folded. Foxen had Ah Ac, while McKeehen held Ks Qc. The board ran out Kh 10h 3s Jc 5h and McKeehen got eliminated in third place ($305,665).

Mermelstein entered heads-up as a chip leader against Foxen and was able to further extend his advantage. On the final hand of the dual, Foxen raised to 350,000 with Js 10d and Mermelstein made the call with 10s 10s. The flop opened 10c 9h 4c where Mermelstein checked his top set, Foxen bet 450,000 and Mermelstein check-raised all in. Foxen called for his last 2,125,000. The turn and river came down Ac and 3s. Mermelstein’s top set won him the pot as well as the coveted title. Foxen took home a whopping $545,000 prizemoney. This was his sixth final table of the year.

Final Table Payouts:

  1. Aaron Mermelstein – $618,955
  2. Alex Foxen – $545,000
  3. Joe McKeehen – $305,665
  4. James Calderaro – $210,295
  5. Shannon Shorr – $136,935
  6. Niall Farrell – $100,255
  7. Alan Schein – $83,140
  8. Brandon Adams – $70,915
  9. Ben Yu – $68,470

header ad banner