Dan O’Brien Ships RIU Reno Main Event; Weijie Zheng Wins 2019 Irish Poker Open Main Event

This Monday saw the 8th edition of Run It Up Reno conclude with the $600 buy-in Main Event, which attracted 629 entries. 9 players returned to the Peppermill Casino to battle it out on the live-streamed final table. In the end, it was poker pro Dan O’Brien who emerged victorious to win $46,681in top prize, beating Loren Klein in heads-up and denying him a third RIU Main Event title. With this Main Event win, O’Brien has taken his lifetime live earnings to over $3.3 million. 

“It feels really good to win, it really does. It was a lot of fun. I ran really well the entire tournament obviously. I tried to focus on playing well and really not worrying about anything else,  O’Brien said.

As for Klein, he holds more than $2.7 million in lifetime earnings. In addition to being a two-time RIU Reno Main Event champion, he is also a three-time WSOP bracelet winner. The player had won the last summer’s $10,000 PLO Championship for $1,018,336, the 2017 WSOP Event #41: $1,500 PLO for $231,483, and the 2016 WSOP Event #45: $1,500 Mixed NLH/PLO for $241,427.

The first elimination from the final table came in Robert Valdez who lost a flip with pocket nines to Vito Distefano’s ace-jack. The next player to fall was Chris Gallagher who three-bet jammed king-seven and got called by Klein holding ace-ten. Klein got a ten on the river to eliminate Gallagher in 8th place. Following him in 7th place was Kevin Gerhart whose king-six lost to Klein’s pocket fours.

The next elimination came in Julio Uribe who ran ace-deuce suited into O’Brien’s aces. He exited the tournament in 6th place. Up next, Distefano, who began the final table as chip leader, shoved all-in with queen-jack, which lost to Klein’s ace-eight. The start of the FT chip leader exited in 5th place.

A few hands later, RIU Reno IV champion Tim Tucker got eliminated in 4th place when his pocket jacks lost to Klein’s queen-jack. The latter spiked a queen on the flop to eliminate Tucker. Falling in 3rd place was Austin Roberts whose queen-ten suited couldn’t overcome O’Brien’s ace-queen.

After busting Roberts, O’Brien entered heads-up with Klein as the chip leader. The two battled it hard for some time and exchanged the chip lead multiple times. Eventually, a big hand came and it saw Klein flop two pair and O’Brien get a bigger two pair. The latter doubled and a couple of hands later he eventually took down the title. Klein had to settle for $30,950 for his runner-up finish in the event.

Final Table Payouts:

Dan O’Brien $46,681
Loren Klein $30,950
Austin Roberts $22,180
Tim Tucker $17,120
Vito Distefano $13,920
Julio Uribe $11,640
Kevin Gerhart $9,825
Chris Gallagher $8,245
Robert Valdez $6,750


Weijie Zheng Takes Down 2019 Irish Poker Open Main Event For €300,000

The 2019 Irish Poker Open €1,150 Main Event drew a huge field with 1,807 entries to generate a massive €1,805,870 prize pool. The largest share of the prizepool eventually went to Ireland’s Weijie Zheng who shipped the event for €300,000 ($337,797) at Citywest Hotel in Dublin on Monday.

This win was Zheng’s biggest live cash and an encouraging addition to his bankroll as he had entered the tournament with $26,611 in live tournament career earnings as per The Hendon Mob data.

The final table began with Zheng as chip leader holding a double the chips of his nearest competitor Max Silver. Zheng managed to maintain his chip lead and eventually won the tournament.

After Gallagher exiting in third place for €125,000 ($140,749), the heads-up began between the eventual winner and Dave Masters. The two battled it for quite a sometime. In between, Masters lost a big chunk of his chips and eventually decided to shove all-in with sixes and he was snap-called by Zheng with king-jack. A jack on the flop to pair up Zheng and Masters was eliminated in 2nd place. Zheng took home the trophy and top prize, Masters walked away with an impressive €190,000 ($213,938) for his runner-up finish. The €190,000 was Masters’ largest live cash to date.

Final Table Payouts:

1 Weijie Zheng € 300,000
2 Dave Masters € 190,000
3 Thomas Gallagher € 125,000
4 Raymond Wheatley € 85,000
5 Sami Agel € 63,520
6 David Crilly € 50,000
7 Max Silver € 37,500
8 Seamus Cahill € 27,500
9 Steven Alper € 21,000

header ad banner