Rahul Byrraju Finishes 4th in PAPC Championship Event; Jagdeep Singh Scores in Big Wrap PLO

Named after Finland’s number one player – Patrik Antonius, the first-ever Patrik Antonius Poker Championship (PAPC) was hosted in Talinn, Estonia. Running between 1-7 April 2019, the PAPC had several exciting events. One of them was the €10,200 Championship Event and it was won by Patrik Antonius himself. Antonius earned €78,100 (INR 61.2 Lac) for taking down the coveted title.


The event also saw India’s Rahul Byrraju in action and he finished 4th for €20,102 (INR 15.74 Lac). Byrraju is a talented player with $348k live cashes. He is one of the most active live players and has played more international events than other Indians. His best live cash of $ 80,885 had come when he finished 8th in the A$ 24,000 + 1,000 #8 NLH Challenge at the 2015 Aussie Millions.

Rahul Raju Byrraju

The event drew a total of 20 entrants and the field came down to the final 9 players on the final day. Jussi Mattila joined the action right before the late-registration period closed with 10 unique players plus 10 re-entries (total 20 entries), creating an impressive €195,552 in the total prize pool.

American player James Romero was the first one to get eliminated on the day after late registration closed. The seven-handed final table was reached after Netherlands’ Teun Mulder and Canada’s Timothy Adams hit the rail. Netherlands’ Joris Ruijs was the chip leader to kick off the final table. India’s Rahul Byrraju, Finland’s Joni Jouhkimainen, and Antonius were in the middle of the pack with Robert Mizrachi, Koray Aldemir, and Mattila all being short stacks at the final table.

Byrraju was the first player to finish in the money in fourth place for €20,102 (INR 15.74 Lac) after he ran his ace-trey into Antonius’ pocket tens and eventually got busted. Shortly after, Antonius eliminated Ruijs in third place for €38,800 after his king-eight held against the queen-six of Ruijs.

Antonius entered heads-up with Jouhkimainen and had a 2:1 chip advantage over his opponent. The latter climbed back but could not go all the way, eventually finishing runner-up for €51,550. Antonius earned the coveted trophy and the first-place prize €78,100 for his grand victory.

Final Table Payouts:

  1. Patrik Antonius – €78,100 ($87,645)
  2. Joni Jouhkimainen – €51,550
  3. Joris Ruijs – €38,800
  4. Rahul Byrraju – €20,102

BIG Wrap PLO Main Event – Jagdeep Singh Finishes 20th For €10,677 (INR 8.37 Lac)

jagdeep 2

The Big Wrap series running between 1-8 April 2019 finally wrapped up yesterday at King’s Casino, Rozvadov. One of its key events – the Big Wrap PLO €1 million GTD that registered a total of 516 entries. Only 170 made Day 2, including 3 Indians Jagdeep Singh, Manish Goenka and Gaurav Gala.

Gala and Goenka had advanced to Day 2 with stacks of 208,000 and 100,000 respectively, but they unfortunately got busted short of the money bubble. Singh had started Day 2 as the tenth-largest stack and was in a good position to make Day 3, but unfortunately got eliminated towards the end of the day. He finished 20th in the Main Event, taking home an impressive €10,677 (INR 8.37 Lac).

Singh, one of the country’s talented PLO players, has been in good form. He finished 2nd in the € 700 + 70 No Limit Hold’em – TIPS Highroller at the recently concluded ‘The Indian Poker Series (TIPS) for € 14,000. Most recently, he finished 7th in the WPT Barcelona €1,100 PLO event for €5,800 (INR 4.49 Lac). With a massive stack of 568,000, the player will be looking for a big score in the Big Wrap PLO.

The top 55 finishers made money with the min-cash being €5,284. Winning the first-place cash prize and the title was Lautaro Valentino Guerra Cabrerizo. He earned €209,221 (INR 1.64 Crores). The runner-up to finish was Lauri Sakari and he walked away with €132,648 for his runner-up finish.

Top 10 Payouts:

  1. Lautaro Valentino Guerra Cabrerizo – €209,221
  2. Lauri Sakari – €132,648
  3. Iisakki Viljami – €95,873
  4. ‘028’ – €77,540
  5. Tomasz Kozub – €61,363
  6. Ethem Tosun – €47,236
  7. ‘Frex’ – €35,157
  8. ‘Kianator’ – €25,451
  9. Peter Muehlbek – €20,598
  10. Yves Charles M Kupfermunz – €17,039

Want to win big in poker but don’t have account as yet? Sign-up HERE & get 1000 to play!

header ad banner