EPT Barcelona ME: Pasquale Braco Leads 48 Into Day 4; Sahil Chutani Sole Indian Among Survivors

A total of 191 players returned for Day 3 of the record-breaking 2019 EPT Barcelona €5,300 EPT Main Event yesterday to battle it out for their share of €9,641,800 prize pool. Among the returning players, there were three Indians, namely Sahil Chutani (483k), Kunal Punjwani (242k) and the veteran Raman Gujral (173k). The day concluded with just 48 players remaining in the field and Chuttani was the sole Indian to remain among the survivors. He bagged 1,170,000 chips after a roller-coaster ride. He is placed 24th in chips for Day 4 play and will be looking to post a big score in the tournament.

The rest two Indians – Kunal Punjwani and Raman Gujral could not progress and hit the rail on Day 3 itself. The first to exit among the two was Punjwani who finished 99th for €14,750 (INR 11.68 Lac). The next to fall was Raman Gujral who got off to a good start but faced a bad beat, which led to his exit in 73rd place. Gujral earned a good €17,160 (INR 13.59 Lac) for his efforts in the tournament.

All the remaining 48 are guaranteed a minimum payout of €25,650, but they will be eyeing the top prize of €1,659,000. The chip leader among these survivors is Italy’s Pasquale Braco (2,800,000), followed by the American pro Shannon Shorr (2,515,000) and Diego Falcone (2,310,000).

The other big stacks among the 48 survivors include Simon Brandstrom (2,300,000), Ut Tam Vo (2,275,000), Jonas Ten Cate (2,240,000) and Jerry Odeen (2,135,000). Some notables in contention include EPT Main Event runner-ups Kimmo Kurko (1,655,000), Marton Czuczor (1,195,000) and Anton Siden (745,000), 2016 Dublin third-place finisher Kully Sidhu (1,715,000), Stefan Jedlicka (1,815,000), Timothy Adams (1,275,000), Isaac Haxton (1,205,000) and Ben Farrell (1,020,000).

Day 4 play is slated to begin today at noon (local time) with the blinds resuming at 10,000/ 25,000.

Top 10 Chip Counts At Day 3 End

  1. Pasquale Braco – 2,800,000
  2. Shannon Shorr – 2,515,000
  3. Diego Falcone – 2,310,000
  4. Simon Brandstrom – 2,300,000
  5. Ut Tam Vo – 2,275,000
  6. Jonas ten Cate – 2,240,000
  7. Jerry Odeen – 2,135,000
  8. Bartlomiej Machon – 2,030,000
  9. Johnny Nedved – 1,975,000
  10. Joe Mouawad – 1,955,000