Akshay Nasa & Jaideep Sajwan Enter Day 2 Of APT Philippines Championships Event

The Asian Poker Tour (APT) Philippines II 2019 is now in its final stage with just two more days to go as the series concludes on September 22. Yesterday saw Day 1B of its PHP 10 Million guaranteed Championships Event. A total of 141 entries were registered in the last starting flight with only 84 of them making Day 2. Day 1B field combined with 94 entries from Day 1A took the total field to 235 entries to easily crush the PHP 10 Million (INR 1.36 Crores) guarantee. With the late registration open till the first hour on Day 2 play today, the total prizepool is likely to touch the PHP 15 Million mark.

The Short Deck winner Seongsu Kong from Korea ended Day 1B as chip leader bagging 226,900 in chips. Trailing him in chips were Julien Weymouth (217,400), Bae Chul Ho (216,900), Anthony “Ozy” Abram ( 216,700), and Florencio L. Campomanes IV (214,600) who rounded out the top 5 stacks of the day. Among the 84 survivors on Day 1B were two talented Indians in Akshay Nasa and Jaideep Sajwan. Nasa managed to bag a workable stack of 35,600, while Sajwan bagged 21,600 chips.

Nasa has been doing pretty well at the series having scored in back-to-back High Roller events. Just recently at the series, he finished runner-up in the High Rollers Single Day 1 to earn PHP 786,000 ( INR 10.81 Lac) and then followed up that score with 10th place finish for PHP 180,700 (INR 2.46 Lac) in the High Rollers 2. Now, he will be looking for another deep run in the Championships Event.

Another Indian to join Nasa on Day 2 of the Championships Event will be the rising talent in Jaideep Sajwan (21,600) who had recently finished 49th in the Main Event of the ongoing APT series.

A total of 127 survivors (from Day 1A & 1B) return for Day 2 starting at 1 PM (local time) today. Day 1A chip leader Jeonggyu Cho (339,700) will begin the day as the chip leader among the survivors.


 Top 10 Chip Counts for Day 2 Start:

  1. Jeonggyu Cho – 339,700
  2. Michael Kim Falcon – 315,600
  3. Seongsu Kong – 226,900
  4. Julien Weymouth – 217,400
  5. Bae Chul Ho – 216,900
  6. Anthony “Ozy” Abram – 216,700
  7. Florencio L. Campomanes IV – 214,600
  8. Jung Seong Mook – 195,000
  9. Gyeong Byeong Lee – 181,700
  10. Graeme Siow – 181,200

header ad banner