Ankit Wadhawan & Akshay Nasa On APT Vietnam Main Event Final Table

Yesterday saw Day 3 of the APT Vietnam Main Event at the Pro Poker Club. A total of 52 runners began the day, and after almost 10 hours of play, that field came down to just final eight runners. Emerging as chip leader at Day 3 end was France’s Vincent Chauve (3,063,000) who busted the WPT India 2019 Megastack champion Madhav Gupta in 11th place. Sweden’s Sofia Lovgren (1,654,000), the chip leader from Day 2 played well to maintain her stack and eventually end the day as second largest stack among the final eight. Choi Eng Loong (1,521,000) rounded out the top 3 stacks.

Team India

A total of 6 Indians led by young gun Akshay Nasa (504,000) had entered Day 3 and the two of them, Ankit Wadhawan (1,302,000) and Akshay Nasa (1,284,000) managed to stay in contention to reach the final table of 8 players. Wadhawan eliminated Soo Jo Kim to bag the 4th largest stack on the final table. He is a well-known name on both on live and online felts. The talented player has been in a good form over the last few months and has already posted two FT finishes. His last recorded live score was in the WPT India 2019 Main Event where he finished 22nd for INR 2,37,645 prizemoney.

Talking about Nasa, he ended Day 3 as the 5th largest stack with 1,284,000 chips. Nasa returned for Day 3 play as second in chips and kept his momentum going to cruise his way into the eight-handed final table. It was Nasa who delivered the bubble yesterday by eliminating Nguyen Thi Bao An and bagged the 5th largest stack by the end of the night. It has been a fantastic year so far for Nasa with already a WPT Vietnam Superstack Turbo title and several FT finishes in various prestigious events.

Overall, Day 3 proved to be a profitable one for Team India as it saw 6 Indians returning to the felts, with four of them finishing ITM and two of them (Wadhawan and Nasa) reaching the final table. The four Indians who finished ITM included the likes of Madhav Gupta (11th for VND 131,550,000), the 2018 WPT Vietnam Main Event champion Dhaval Mudgal (14th for VND 109,620,000), the 2019 WPT India Main Event champion Ashish Munot (30th), and Vinay Agarwal (36th for VND 52,870,000).

The final table is set to begin at 1 PM (ICT) and the live stream of the same will be available via the APT YouTube and Twitch channels. While each of the final 8 players is guaranteed at least VND 227,310,000, they will be will be eyeing the coveted title and VND 1,818,450,000 in top prizemoney.

Final Table Chip Counts:

  1. Vincent Chauve – 3,063,000
  2. Sofia Lovgren – 1,654,000
  3. Choi Eng Loong – 1,521,000
  4. Ankit Wadhawan – 1,302,000
  5. Akshay Nasa – 1,284,000
  6. Nguyen Duc Bien – 1,247,000
  7. Cuong Nguyen – 515,000
  8. Jaesh Balachandran – 319,000