Daniel Negreanu Wins His Third WSOP POY Title Without A Bracelet

Six-time bracelet winner Daniel Negreanu is one of the most recognized names in the poker world. The 45-year old pro has already achieved a lot in his career though, he has now added yet another feather to his poker cap by winning the 2019 World Series of Poker Player of the Year honors as defending POY winner Shaun Deeb fell short of surpassing him in the final event of the 2019 WSOP Europe in Rozvadov. After becoming the first player to win this prestigious POY title twice, he has now won it for a record third time, proving yet again that he is one of the best in business.

Negreanu won the first WSOP POY back in 2004, and then took it down in 2013 as well. Talking about his record-setting third POY title, Negreanu said, “This was a personal goal of mine, winning it three times before anyone else got to two. The all-time money list isn’t something that I can contend for anymore with my schedule, but WSOP POY is an achievement I can give myself a shot to win.”

A Look At WSOP POY History:

  • 2004 Daniel Negreanu (Canada)
  • 2005 Allen Cunningham (USA)
  • 2006 Jeff Madsen (USA)
  • 2007 Tom Schneider (USA)
  • 2008 Erick Lindgren (USA)
  • 2009 Jeff Lisandro (Australia)
  • 2010 Frank Kassela (USA)
  • 2011 Ben Lamb (USA)
  • 2012 Greg Merson (USA)
  • 2013 Daniel Negreanu (Canada)
  • 2014 George Danzer (Germany)
  • 2015 Mike Gorodinsky (USA)
  • 2016 Jason Mercier (USA)
  • 2017 Chris Ferguson (USA)
  • 2018 Shaun Deeb (USA)
  • 2019 Daniel Negreanu (Canada)

Negreanu did all he could do to earn the 2019 WSOP POY title. He scored 24 cashes worth $2,213,605 and 4,074.88 points. He made five FT finishes and came runner-up twice. His best result was a runner-up finish in the $100,000 High Roller in Las Vegas where he earned $1.1 million. While he made so many deep finishes, he won no bracelets. That means that he became the first POY winner in the race’s 16-year history to earn the POY honor without winning a bracelet.

Negreanu topped the leaderboard, earning 4,074.88 points to surpass Robert Campbell and Shaun Deeb who had a chance until the very last event of the 2019 WSOP Europe. In the last event of WSOPE, the €550 Colossus, Deeb who was looking for his second POY title needed a 5th place or better finish to defend his Player of the Year crown. Although Deeb’s chances looked very strong, he got eliminated in the 11th place, allowing Negreanu to claim his record-setting third POY title.

Place Player 2019 WSOP POY Points
1 Daniel Negreanu 4,074.88
2 Robert Campbell 3,961.31
3 Shaun Deeb 3,917.32
4 Anthony Zinno 3,322.00
5 Phillip Hui 3,186.17
6 Dan Zack 3,126.13
7 Dario Sammartino 3,091.03
8 Kahle Burns 2,983.37
9 Dash Dudley 2,860.79
10 David “ODB” Baker 2,808.51

Given below is Negreanu’s VLOG from the Czech Republic where he details his WSOP stats for the year and how those winnings represented over a million dollars in profit. Take a quick look: