WPT Cambodia: 4 Indians Score In Deepstack Turbo; Sood Leads Megastack Freezeout FT

The inaugural World Poker Tour (WPT) Cambodia is currently underway at the Nagaworld in Phnom Penh. Yesterday saw the series awarding trophies in two events. The most prominent of the two was the $300 buy-in NagaWorld Cup, which was eventually taken down by China’s Yinfei Xiao for $9,955.

The second event playing down to a champion yesterday was the $ 250 buy-in Deep Stack Turbo, which registered 97 entries to generate $ 21,170 prizepool, which was shared by top 13 players.

Topping the field was Lebanon’s Mohamad Abbouchi who defeated Korea’s Jung Whan Kim in heads-up to win the title for a good $6,457. Kim eventually settled for $3,969 as second-place prizemoney.

Team India

It was a landmark day for Team India as four of our Indian challengers finished ITM in the event. Running deepest among them was Ankit Wadhawan (4th for $1,588), followed by WSOP bracelet winner Abhinav Iyer (6th for $990), Meherzad Munsaf (11th for $582) and Gaurav Sood (13th for $529).

Top 10 Payouts (USD)

  1. Mohamad Abbouchi – $6,457
  2. Jung Whan Kim – $3,969
  3. YIk Yin Chiu – $2,435
  4. Ankit Wadhawan – $1,588
  5. Jerome Bradpiece – $1,238
  6. Abhinav Iyer – $990
  7. Louis Maniere – $842
  8. Jeffrey Robert Davis – $730
  9. En Wei Terence Tan – $646
  10. Daji Chen – $582

 Gaurav Sood Leads The $550 Megastack Freezeout Final Table

The 5th event on the schedule was the $550 Megastack Freezeout, which attracted a total of 149 entries and generated $72,265 in prizepool. Top 19 players get paid, with the top prize of $19,925 reserved for the eventual champion. Only 9 players advanced to final day and leading the pack was none other than India’s Gaurav Sood holding a massive stack of 1,001,000. He is followed by Kue Seong Tchong (632,000) and India’s Ravi Shankar Metlapalli (537,000) rounds out top three stacks.

Sood is a rising talent, who first cashed $529 for his 13th place finish at the Deep Stack Turbo and will be eyeing a big score today in the Megastack Freezeout as he will start the FT as a chip leader.

Final Table Chip Counts

  1. Gaurav Sood – 1,001,000
  2. Kue Seong Tchong – 632,000
  3. Ravi Shankar Metlapalli – 537,000
  4. Stig Erik Goran Billgren – 536,000
  5. Chainani Dhanesh Vijaykumar – 535,000
  6. Kohei Nakai – 461,000
  7. Ping Liu – 330,000
  8. Pierre Yves Faivre – 230,000
  9. Jerome Adam Bradpiece – 210,000

The final table of the event begins today with the blinds starting at 8,000/ 16,000.