Aussie Millions Main Event Day 4: Vekaria Finishes 18th; Bansal Exits In 32nd Place

The 2020 Aussie Millions is currently underway at the Crown Casino in Melbourne, Australia. The 21-day long poker festival has reached its pinnacle with the A$10,600 Main Event, Day 3 of which took place yesterday and saw 158 players returning to the felts with Jordan Tentori in lead. By the end of the day, the 820-field further narrowed down to 37 players who returned today at noon for the penultimate day, which began with Germany’s Nino Ullmann (1,497,000) in lead. Following him in second place was India’s Rishabh Vekaria who bagged a massive stack of 1,380,000 in his first international poker tournament outside Goa, India. Another Indian who had qualified for Day 4 of the event was the well-known pro Paawan Bansal who began the day’s play with 289,000 chips.

A hardcore cash game player, Vekaria who has already won a live title by winning DPT August 2019 Main Event for INR 30 Lac, started the day with the second largest stack but was unfortunate to lose his stack and eventually bust in 18th place (A$82,000). Unfortunately for Vekaria, his pocket queens lost to Ngoc Tai Hoang’s 9h 8c on a 3d 8d 8s 5d 5s board, which gave the latter a winning full house!

A prolific casher and more experienced than Vekaria, Bansal started the day with a stack of 289,000 chips and did well finishing 32nd in the event and taking home a good A$36,080. Bansal had  pitted his Ah 8d against pocket eights of the start-of-the day chip leader Nino Ullmann. The board ran out 7-Q-2-6-J where pocket eights held up to win Ullmann the pot and bust Bansal in the process.

A total of three Indians had entered Day 3 of the event, namely Paawan Bansal, Rishabh Vekaria and Rahul Melwani. Unfortunately, Melwani busted quite early on the day, finishing 81st for A$ 15,580.

Latest Update from Aussie Millions ME!

The Aussie Millions Main Event has reached level 24 with 15k-30k blinds and 15k ante and there are only 12 players remaining after Jinsoo Kang exiting in 13th (A$82,000). Leading the remaining 12 runners is Nino Ullmann who had started the day as a chip leader. Each of the remaining players is assured at least A$ 123,000 but they all will be eyeing the massive top prize of A$1,850,000.

Current Top 5 Chip Counts:

Nino Ullmann4,240,000
Ngoc Tai Hoang3,245,000
Gareth Pepper2,990,000
Erik Seidel2,465,000
Michael Sideridis2,300,000