Prajit Ghambir Wins IPC 15K Head Hunter For INR 6.15 Lac After 3-Way Chop!

The super successful India Poker Championship (IPC) January 2020 edition concluded yesterday with the 50K Main Event crowning a champion in Rubin Labroo and the 15K Head Hunter finding a champion in Prajit Ghambir who defeated Armaan Kochhar in heads-up to claim INR 6.15 Lac.

Primarily an online player, Ghambir who had won satellites for the10K Kick Off and the Head Hunter, entered the final table with the 7th largest stack, much behind the start-of-the FT chip leader Vipul Tiwari (1,335,000). However, he held his nerves and kept building his stack to eventually enter the three-handed play after Himanshu Dwivedis exit in 4th place. Dwivedi was busted by Tiwari whose A6 bested pocket tens of Dwivedi on a QQAAQ board. Tiwari hit a better full house to win it.

During the three-handed play, the final three players agreed to a deal ensuring each INR 5 Lac and keeping INR 1,15,400 and the trophy for the champion. A little after the deal was done, Ghambir eliminated Tiwari in third place to eventually enter the heads-up with Armaan Kochhar who began as the chip leader. However, Ghambir did not take long to close the gap and win the title. On the final hand, Kochhar shoved with 9h 7h and Ghambir with pocket threes. The board ran 10-10-A-2-6 to give Ghambir the pot as well as the title. Kochhar had to eventually settle for INR 5 Lac.

The INR 22.5 Lac GTD Head Hunter event drew a record field with 364 entries to surpass the 348-entry mark set at the last IPC and generate INR 34.76 Lac prizepool, which was finally shared by top 41 finishers with a min-cash of INR 18,100. Anurag Sanaghi (10th for INR 63,300), Mayank Makhija (15th for INR 53,900), Ameya Gokhale (17th for INR 44,900), Wilson Yomso (18th for INR 44,900), Amar Reddy (26th for INR 26,100), Shravan Chhabria (33rd for INR 22,100), Vikaash Shah (34th for INR 22,100), Goonjan Mall (37th for INR 18,100), Deepak Raina (39th for INR 18,100), and Gagandeep Malik (40th for INR 18,100) were some of the notables who finished ITM in the tournament.

Final Table Payouts (INR):

  1. Prajit Ghambir – INR 6,15,400*
  2. Armaan Kochhar – INR 5,00,000*
  3. Vipul Tiwari – INR 5,00,000*
  4. Himanshu Dwivedi – INR 2,15,800
  5. Kyrylo Lavrov – INR 1,66,500
  6. Danyal Kazi – INR 1,37,800
  7. Sahil Mahboobani – INR 1,15,800
  8. Anil Adiani – INR 95,100
  9. Kabir Khattar – INR 75,100

*denotes 3-way deal