2020 WSOP Online: Alek Stasiak Wins Event #33; Abhinav Iyer Finishes 4th

Team India has been doing pretty well at the 2020 World Series of Poker (WSOP) Online running at GGPoker and Natural8. After Neel Joshi final-tabling Event #36 $1.5 Fifty Stack NLHE, WSOP bracelet winner, Abhinav ‘OBellaCiao’ Iyer, was seen in contention for his second bracelet in Event #33 $1,111 Every 1 for COVID Relief on Sunday. He came close to the title, eventually finishing fourth for a whopping $127,571.28 (~INR 95.42 Lac) in prizemoney. While this is by far the best finish by an Indian at the ongoing series, the next few days could be more productive for Indians as the majority of events is yet to play out. Iyer also did well in Event #39 $1.5 NLHE, finishing 65th for $4,393 prize.

Event #33: $1,111 Every 1 for Covid Relief was one of the first international tournaments on the opening day of the series on the GGPoker Network. The first two tournaments – #32 and #33 – were delayed due to technical issues. Eventually, it was Alek ‘astazz’ Stasiak who topped a field of 2,323 entries to win Event#33 after defeating Martin ‘colinchow’ Ilobera in heads-up play to bank $343,203.

The final hand saw Stasiak with Ah 6s and Ilobera with 2h 2d. Ilobera moved all in and was called by Stasiak. The flop came Ad Qs 10d. The turn 4s and the river Ks completed the board, thus ending Ilobera’s run in second place and giving the coveted title to Stasiak who banked a $343,203 prize.

Top 332 players were paid out from the $2,580,853 prize pool with a min-cashes starting at $2,249 . Among notable players finishing ITM in the tournament were several Indians, ‘GeeKay’ (24th, $9,112), ‘rung00se’ (15th, $12,673) & WSOP bracelet winner Abhinav ‘OBellaCiao’ Iyer (4th for $127,571). Other big names were Adrian Mateos (19th for $9,112) and Geroge B ‘DrOctagon’ Adams (27th for $6,551).

Final Table Payouts

  1. Alek ‘astaz’ Stasiak – $343,203
  2. Martin ‘colinchow’ Argentina – $246,765
  3. Harry ‘Vulvasore; Lodge – $177,426
  4. Abhinav ‘OBellaCiao’ Iyer – $127,571
  5. David ‘BatSoup789’ Montoya – $91,724
  6. Evan ‘NEONPILS99’ Parkes – $65,951
  7. Andreas ‘Addichip’ Phouli – $47,419.46
  8. Stewart ‘Stew_233’ Kilpatrick – $34,095
  9. Norihiro ‘orzorz’ Otani – $24,514