Poker Masters Online PLO Series Ends With Haxton Shipping Main Event & Parssinen Winning Purple Jacket!

Poker Central`s Poker Masters Online PLO Series, a PLO-centric high stakes series running from June 21 to 29 on partypoker concluded on Monday. Closing out the series in style were the $1.5 M GTD Event #15 Main Event and its mini version – Event #16 Mini Main Event $500K GTD. American pro Isaac Haxton won the Main Event for $675,000, while the Mini Main Event was taken down by Denmark’s Alexander Krojgaard Petersen who walked away with a hefty $148,624 in top prize.

Eelis Parssimen Tops The Leaderboard To Win Purple Jacket

Another big story from the series was Event #5 Super High Roller $1M GTD champion Eelis Parssimen who narrowly missed out on title in Event #14 High Roller $250K GTD, finishing runner-up for $63,986 to Chance Kornuth, who won $100,000. However, a win along with two second and two third-place finishes helped Parssimen to accumulate 625 points on the leaderboard. He outran the likes of Andras Nemeth (624 points) and Jens Kyllonen (612 points) to top the race and win Purple Jacket.

1Eelis Parssinen$735,3596256
2Andras Nemeth$674,1866244
3Jens Kyllonen$612,0006123
4Gavin Cochrane$754,0945495
5Aku Joentausta$507,6434526
6Bengt Sonnert$259,7613663
7Sami Kelopuro$320,7003213
8Andrew Pantling$277,8612884
9Marcello Marigliano$269,5292802
10Viktor Blom$281,2252734

$1.5 M GTD Event #15 Main Event

Featuring $50,000 buy-in, the Main Event drew 29 contenders with only five of them qualifying for Day 2. The $1.5 million guarantee was ultimately paid out among the top four finishers. In the end, American poker pro Isaac Haxton, who had entered the final day`s play as the chip leader, secured the largest chunk of that prize money. Haxton banked $675,000 as the champion of this mega event.

Haxton started final day by knocking out Andre Santos who went out on the $90,000 money bubble. Continuing his momentum, Hexton then busted Chris Kruk in fourth place to extend his chip lead. A little later, Joentausta was the next to fall. He got involved in a massive clash with Haxton, with the latter winning the hand to bust his opponent in fourth place. Joentausta earned $225,000 for his deep run.  

Haxton took around a 3:2 chip lead over Lithuania’s Grazvydas Kontautas into heads-up. Haxton was able to further extend his lead to more than 4:1 by the time the final hand arrived. On the final hand, Kontautas limped holding 10d 10d 3d 2c. Haxton raised with Ad Jd 8h 3c, Kontautas called and the flop opened Kc 9d 5d. Haxton bet the pot and Kontautas moved all-in for over 152,000. Haxton called and the turn brought the As to give Haxton the best pair along with his nut flush draw. The 7d locked up the pot and the title for Haxton who earned $675,000 in top prizemoney.

Final Payouts (USD)

1Isaac Haxton$675,000
2Grazvydas Kontautas$442,104
3Aku Joentausta$225,000
4Chris Kruk$157,896

Event #16 Mini Main Event $500K GTD

The $5,000 buy-in Mini Main Event drew 118 entrants to generate a $590,000 prize pool. While the top 18 players were assured a payout, only six of them made it to the final day. Each of them was already in the money for at least $24,485, but everyone had his eyes on the top prize of $148,624 .

In the end, Denmark’s Alexander Petersen, who had entered the final day`s play in the second chip lead behind Brazil’s Dante Fernandes, came out on top to win the coveted title and $148,624.54.

Final Table Payouts (USD)

  1. Alexander Krojgaard Petersen – $148,624.54
  2. Dante Fernandes – $100,300
  3. Jens Lakemeier – $70,800
  4. Joachim Harald – $50,150
  5. Joni Jouhkimai – $36,875