2020 WSOP Online: Canada’s Jim Lefteruk Wins Event #73; India’s Anant Purohit Finishes 9th

Canada’s Jim ‘grousegrind” Lefteruk has won Event #73: $1,000 NLHE 6-Handed to claim $299,511, his first WSOP bracelet, and the WSOP Europe package. He defeated Endrit “YOUWILLLOSE” Geci in the heads-up battle. The tournament attracted 2,202 entries to create a prize pool of $2,091,900 that was ultimately shared by top 314 players. This win happens to Lefteruk’s first cash on GGPoker.

The first player to exit the final table was India’s Anant ‘MisterPro’ Purohit who finished 9th. He started the FT with a decent stack but unfortunately ended up exiting the table early. Purohit earned $22,250 (~INR 16.43 Lac). After a raise from the eventual champ Jim ‘grousegrind” Lefteruk, Purohit moved all-in for 2,526,982 which Lefteruk called holding Kh Jh against As 5s of Purohit. The board ran out 8d Js 9d Kc 5c, giving Lefteruk two pair to bust his opponent in the 9th place.

Purohit vs Leftreruk

With a bracelet and a dozen of FT scores already, Team India is going strong at the series. Adding to this impressive tally of scores was online MTT Crusher Purohit, who has won tons of online titles.

After the elimination of Patrick Kennedy (8th), Seungmook Jung (7th), Markku Koplimaa (6th), Andrii Derzhypilskyi (5th), Ivan Luca (4th), and Jorge Abreu (3rd), it eventually came to heads-up between Lefteruk and Endrit Geci, with the former eventually taking down the title for $299,511 in top prize.

On the final hand, Lefteruk limped and Endrit “YOUWILLLOSE” Geci shoved for 6,380,336 which Lefteruk called, holding Ks 10c against Lefteruk’s Jd Jh. The board ran out 4d Qc Ac 10s Qd to give the pot as well as the title to Lefteruk and Geci had to settle for a runner-up prize of $223,978.

Geci vs Lefteruk

Final Table Payouts

1 Jim ‘grousegrind” Lefteruk – $299,511*

2 Endrit “YOUWILLLOSE” Geci – $223,978

3 Jorge “bemjogadogg” Abreu – $161,042

4 Ivan Luca – $115,791

5 Andrii “D0ntB1uffMe” Derzhypilskyi  – $83,254

6 Markku “ExVang” Koplimaa – $59,861

7 Seungmook “7high” Jung – $43,040

8 Patrick “Muddington” Kennedy – $30,946

9 Anant “MisterPro” Purohit – $22,250