2020 WSOP Online: Ireland’s Toby Joyce Wins Event #66; India’s Rahul Gupta Finishes 8th

The latest event of the 2020 GGPoker World Series of Poker Online to wrap up was Event #66: $800 Pot Limit Omaha (PLO) that attracted a total of 1,281 entries to create a prizepool of $973,560. After more than 12 and a half hours of play, it was Irelands Toby Joyce who came out on top to claim the coveted bracelet and a $139,453 in top prize after defeating Mark “Beanboozled” Herm heads-up.

Currently ranked 7th on Ireland’s All Time Money list with $1,658,451, the Irishman has cashed ten tournaments during the current festival on the GGNetwork so far including four PLO events. His highest score had come in Event #35: $5,000 PLO Championship where he finished 13th for $20,872. After winning the short-lived heads-up battle with Herm, Joyce has joined his fellow countryman Eoghan O’Dea (won his first bracelet in Event #51: $400 PLO) to claim his first gold bracelet.

Top 188 were paid out, with Grzegorz “CUatRhinosLV” Derkowski (7th place), Giorgiy “NINASKH” Skhulukhiya (6th) and Jonas “deucesup” Kronwitter (4th) being the notable final table finishers.

India’s Rahul “sabertooth35” Gupta did pretty well in the tournament, finishing 8th for $16,054 ( INR 12.04 Lac). He pitted his Kc Kh Qh 9c against Herm’s Qc Qs 6s 3c and lost on a board of 9s 5c 2s Qd 10h. ‘ChonnyJoan’ (31st for $3,231), ‘borntrouble’ (58th for $2,559) and Event#64 champion ‘Mandovi” (89th for $2,231) were the other Indian players making ITM finishes in the tournament.

Other notables to finish deep in this PLO tournament were Kathy “YouMakeMeWet” Sathaphan (10th for $8,454), Shyngis “somebodyelse” Satubayev (11th for $8,454), Kamal “hki23” Huseynov (12th for $8,454), Arie “abush” Kliper (13th for $8,454), Julian “JohnG” Ohngemach (14th for $6,135), Daniel “BaccaratKing” Neilson (15th for $6,135), Mario “xxmmarioxx” Mosboeck (16th for $6,135), Roye “justonce1” Arguan (17th for $6,135), Tyler “RudleyFudley” Smith(19th for $4,452), Maksim “KaTya_I8” Shuts (20th for $4,452), Niki “everyhand” Nurmisto (21st for $4,452), and the list goes on.

Herm was favourite to win the title as he entered the final table with the chip lead and dominated the action with relentless aggression. Joyce holding a shorter stack patiently waited to chip up and gained the momentum during three-handed play after doubling up twice through Herm. He then eliminated Maksim “MAX FOMIN” Fomin in 3rd place to eventually enter the heads-up with Herm.

The heads-up between Joyce (17,871,821) and Herm (14,153,179) started with the former holding the chip lead. Herm fought well and took over the chip lead. However, Joyce battled it back and won a decent pot to regain the chip lead. From that point, there was no looking back and he went on to ship the title for an impressive $139,453 in top prizemoney. On the final hand, Joyce raised to 2.4 million and Herm re-raised to 7.2 million. Joyce shoved and Herm called for a pot of 23.15 million.

Herm: Ac Kc 8d 8h

Joyce: Ad Qh Jh 10s

The board ran out Qd Jd 5s Qc 2c and Herm had to settle for second place and $109,908 prize.

Mark "Beanboozled" Herm Eliminated in 2nd Place

Final Table Payouts  

1Toby “shinerrr” Joyce$139,453*
2Mark “Beanboozled” Herm$109,909
3Maksim “MAX FOMIN” Fomin$79,761
4Jonas “deucesup” Kronwitter$57,883
5Ruslan “zverrmvp” Nazarenko$42,005
6Giorgiy “NINASKH” Skhulukhiya$30,483
7Grzegorz “CUatRhinosLV” Derkowski$22,122
8Rahul “sabertooth35” Gupta$16,054
9Wilder “wilder brito” Brito$11,650