2020 WCOOP Awards Nearly $100 Million In Prizes; Andre Marques Wins Its Main Event

The 2020 World Championship of Online Poker (WCOOP) series is in the books. The popular online series drew 1,119,186 entries throughout the 225-event schedule. A total of $99,780,230 in prize money was paid out during the series, with the $10,000,000 guaranteed WCOOP Main Event sporting a $5,200 buy-in being the key highlight of the series. The Main Event attracted a field of 1,977 entries, and in the end it was Portuguese player Andre ‘PTFisherman23’ Marques who emerged victorious to bank the top payout of $1,147,271, after agreeing to a 3-way deal with Tonio “prrrak4783” Röder (runner-up for $1,082,523) and Mulder and Teun “tinnoemulder” Mulder ( 3rd for $1,101,528).

The final table started with Teun ‘tinnoemulder’ Mulder in the chip lead, with Marques and Robin ‘robinho’ Ylitalo not being far behind. Marques overtook the lead early on by eliminating Cecilia ‘princes chu’ Cafaro in ninth place. Marques then picked up pocket queens against pocket sevens of ‘77atlant77’ and held. Michael ‘munchenHB’ Telker was the next to be eliminated from the FT.

Denys ‘SantaZzz’ Chufarin lost a preflop race to hit the rail in sixth place. He got all-in with A-J against 8-8 of Ylitalo whose hand held to win him the coveted pot. Lyubovetskiy moved all-in with K-J and found himself dominated by the A-J of Tonio ‘prrrak4783’ Roder to exit in fifth place.

After Robin ‘robinho’ Ylitalo and Teun ‘tinnoemulder’ Mulder exiting in fourth and third places respectively, it came down to heads-up with the eventual champ Marques holding a 2:1 lead over Roder. He has able to extend his lead to more than 6:1 by the time the final hand arrived. On the final hand, Roder held 6c 5d and Marques had 8c 7s. The board ran 9c 6s 2s 9h 10d, giving Marques a straight to take down the title for $1,147,271. Roder walked away with $1,082,523 as a runner-up.

Final Table Payouts

1Andre ‘PTFisherman23’ Marques$1,147,271*
2Tonio ‘prrrak4783’ Roder$1,082,523*
3Teun ‘tinnoemulder’ Mulder$1,101,528*
4Robin ‘robinho’ Ylitalo$543,301
5Andriy ‘Andre_Hansen’ Lyubovetskiy$387,284
6Denys ‘SantaZzz’ Chufarin$276,069
7Michael ‘munchenHB’ Telker$196,792
9Cecilia ‘princes chu’ Cafaro$99,997