2020 WSOP Online: Stoyan Madanzhiev Becomes First-Ever WSOP Online Main Event Champion, Earns Record $3.90 Million!

Bulgaria’s Stoyan Madanzhiev has emerged as the champion of the record-setting 2020 World Series of Poker Online $5,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em Main Event. The 77th tournament of the series drew 5,802 entries to crush its $25,000,000 guarantee, creating $27,559,500, which is the largest tournament prize pool in online poker history. Mandanzhiev took home his first WSOP bracelet as the champion, along with $3,904,686, the biggest 1st place prize ever awarded in an online event.

This happens to be the biggest win in Madanzhiev’s career. His largest recorded tournament cash prior to this was a 14th-place finish in the 2019 Merit Poker Western Tournament $2,200 buy-in event for $10,800. Now with this win, the Bulgarian pro has not only taken his earnings to multiple millions but he has also earned the distinction of being the first-ever WSOP Online Main Event champion. WSOP shared a video to show Madanzhiev’s reaction after his win in the historic event.

The final day of the historic event began with just 38 players. Bracelet winner and 2017 WSOP main event 7th place finisher Bryan Piccioli started the day as chip leader, but ultimately finished in 23d place. Plenty of other big names also hit the rail before the final day’s field whittled down to the 9-handed FT, including bracelet winners like Arkadiy Tsinis (37th – $39,214), Jonas Lauck (34th – $55,880), Michael Lech (31st – $55,880) and high-stakes online tournament icons like Samuel ‘€urop€an’ Vousden (12th – $161,686) and Benjamin ‘bencb789’ Rolle (11th for $161,686).

The final table was set after the elimination of Mariano Martiradonna (10th for $161,686). American Tyler Rueger began the table as chip leader, with Madanzhiev right behind him. Samuel Taylor was the first to fall. His set of nines ran into a turned set of aces of China’s Wenling Gao. Following him were Tyler Cornell (8th), Stefan Schillhabel (7th), Joao Santos (6th) and Satoshi Isomae (5th place).

Later, New Zealand’s Thomas Ward holding pocket sixes moved all-in for around 9.5 million. Wenling Gao, who had pocket sevens, made the call. The bigger pair held up through the river and Ward got eliminated in 4th place. Gao continued his momentum and then busted Tyler Rueger in 3rd place, thus moving into the heads-up with Madanzhiev who held an eight big blind lead over Gao.

Madanzhiever was able extend his lead and finished the heads-up within a half hour. The final hand saw Gao raise to 1,600,000 and Madanzhiev made the call. The flop was 5c 4h 3s and Madanzhiev bet 1,700,000. Gao raised to 3,944,000 and Madanzhiev called. Madanzhiev checked the turn 8h. Gao bet 5,644,000 and Madanzhiev raised to 15,040,000. Gao moved all in for 8X,000,000 and Madanzhiev called. Gao tabled Ac Ad but Madanzhiev showed 7d 6h for a flopped straight. The meaningless river was the 8s and Gao was eliminated in 2nd place, giving Madanzhiev the title.

Final Table Payouts

  1. Stoyan Madanzhiev – $3,904,686
  2. Wenling Gao – $2,748,605
  3. Tyler Rueger – $1,928,887
  4. Thomas Ward – $1,353,634
  5. Satoshi Isomae – $949,937
  6. Joao Santos – $666,637
  7. Stefan Schillhabel – $467,825
  8. Tyler Cornell – $328,305
  9. Samuel Taylor – $230,395