WPTOI Final Day: Sahaj Wins The Main Event For INR 50 Lac; Padamwar & Wadhawan Among Other Big Winners

For more than a half month, the 13.5 Crore guaranteed WPT Online India (WPTOI) on Adda52.com was at the forefront of the Indian poker world’s attention. After 18 days of its smashing run, the inaugural online series concluded on Sunday night. The final day saw a total of nine tournaments reaching their conclusion, ending a series that awarded INR 15,15,24,396 prizemoney with a bang.

An impressive 4,077 entries came in for the final day, crushing the day’s overall guarantee of INR 31,800,000 and creating a whopping INR 33,802,616 prizemoney. Headlining the list of tourneys on the final day was the 2.5 Crore GTD WPT India Main Event, the showstopper tourney of the series. Walking away with the Main Event title and trophy was Kumar Sahaj aka “kumar69” who shipped it for INR 50 Lac, the single largest score of the WPTOI series. Apart from the Main Event, the final day saw two other trophy events – 30 Lac GTD WPT – Mike Sexton Tribute and 20 Lac GTD WPT 2500.

Hemant Padamwar aka “hemper” won the WPT – Mike Sexton Tribute to win INR 9.79 Lac and a WPT Trophy, while Ankit Wadhawan aka “d00mtr00p3r” took down the WPT 2500 and walked away with INR 5.31 Lac and a WPT Trophy. Faiz Alam aka “theinternetkid” emerged victorious in 6 Lac GTD WPT Moonlight and banked INR 1.69 Lac. Let us have a quick look at the top results from final day!

2.5 Crore GTD WPT India Main Event Finale

The final day of the series was headlined by the WPT India Main Event Finale. The showstopper tourney of the series, the 11K buy-in Main Event, was a grand success as it attracted 2,573 entries across its 10 flights and created a guarantee-crushing prizepool worth INR 2.57 Crores. A total of 273 players made it to the event’s epic finale yesterday, with 269 of them finishing ITM. After more than 6 and a half hours of play, Kumar Sahaj aka “kumar69” emerged as the winner of the grand prize INR 50 Lac, plus a WPT Trophy, a Hublot Classic Fusion chronograph watch worth U$10K and a $5K WPT passport. Siddharth Barot aka “psychg0d” finished runner-up and banked INR 26.49 Lac prize.

Some prominent names on the final table of the Main Event included Laksh “boomtilt23” Pal Singh (3rd for INR 19.21 Lac), Goonjan “gmtesting” Mall (4th place for INR 13.53 Lac), Ashumi “Ashumi” Parekh (5th place for INR 9.44 Lac), and Sriharsha “ivey2” Doddapaneni (7th place for INR 4.40 Lac).

30 Lac GTD WPT – Mike Sexton Tribute

The final day also had the special 30 Lac GTD WPT – Mike Sexton Tribute with a $1000 Passport and a fine trophy for the winner. Hosted to pay tribute to the late Mike Sexton, the tourney clocked in a 395 entries and crushed its guarantee, resulting in a massive prize pool worth INR 39.50 Lac.

While top 43 players got paid out, walking away with the lion’s share of the prizepool was a relatively lessor known player in Hemant Padamwar aka “hemper” who outlasted Shashank Shekhar aka “Goldfish03” (runner-up for INR 5,92,500) in heads-up to win himself INR 9.79 Lac and a WPT Trophy.

Ujjwal Narwal “fourteenk” (3rd for INR 4,14,750) took the final spot on the podium, while Romit “ft83” Advani (6th for INR 1,38,250), & Sanket “blackcod” Arora (7th for INR 1,08,625) were other FT finishers. Proceeds from this event will be donated to Pokergives.com founded by Mike Sexton.

20 Lac GTD WPT 2500

The 20 Lac GTD WPT 2500 was one of the three trophy events on the final day. Sporting a buy-in of INR 2500, the tourney pulled in 970 entries to create a massive INR 21.82 Lac in prize pool.

It took over 9 hours of play to find a champion. Navigating his way to the top was the well-known online MTT reg in Ankit Wadhawan aka “d00mtr00p3r” who walked away with the prestigious WPT Trophy and INR 5.31 Lac for his win. Vivek Singh aka “Vivek94540” finished runner-up for INR 2,89,618, while Sanish Chhabra “sanish21” (3rd for INR 1,96,425), Abhishek Garg “DurrrSucks” (6th for INR 63,293) & Naresh Rathnam aka “FireExit” (7th for 52,380) were the other notable FT finishers.

6 Lac GTD WPT Moonlight

The WPT Moonlight sporting a buy-in of INR 1,800 also wrapped up with a grand success, pulling in 417 entries and creating a prizepool worth INR 6.83 Lac, which was shared by the top 43 players.

After more than 6 hours of play, former AOPS Main Event champion Faiz Alam aka “theinternetkid” shipped the tourney to win INR 1,69,602 and his third WPT Online title. Pankaj Nanda “Poke3rKing” (2nd for INR 1,02,582), Mitesh Gupta “mit2015” (3rd for INR 71,807), Neeraj Kumar “Kumartomar” (4th for INR 54,710) & Sanjay Kumar “Floppednuts” (6th for 23,936) final-tabled the tourney.

5 Lac GTD WPT Classic

Running past a field of 346 entries in the 5 Lac GTD WPT Classic tourney was none other than the musician-turned poker pro Dhaval Mudgal aka “dirtyzoso” who eventually outlasted Neeraj Kumar aka “Kumartomar” (runner-up for INR 73,372) in the heads-up to ship the title for INR 82,912.

Top Results From Other WPTOI Tournaments On Final Day:

2 Lac GTD WPT Hustle
Total Entries – 327
Prizepool – 2,00,000
Winner – “YOSHER” (won INR 50,000)
Runner-up – “PJ2192” (won INR 30,300)

1 Lac GTD WPT Battlefield
Total Entries – 251
Prizepool – 1,25,509
Winner – “Beatthefish66” (won INR 26,298)
Runner-up – “FearCheema” (won INR 22,569)

1.5 Lac GTD WPT Novemberfest
Total Entries – 255
Prizepool – 1,73,911
Winner – “sp175” (won INR 45,217)
Runner-up – “gauravgoru” (won INR 26,956)

2.5 Lac GTD WPT Late Night PKO
Total Entries – 321
Prizepool – 2,56,802
Winner – “gauravgoru” (won INR 69,966)
Runner-up – “kritagya_17” (won INR 44,802)